Cajun Shrimp Orecchiette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I would give this 4 1/2 stars if I could. It was good, but I think the wine overpowered the dish. I like cajun food and did not really taste the seasoning. I think it needed more. I used a regular onion and added a package of mushrooms that I needed to use up. I did not use the green onion and used cooked shrimp which I added only at the end. Not really sure I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I followed this recipe step by step. I didn't officially have "Orecchiette" so I used shells. Overall my boyfriend really enjoyed this recipe. I thought it would be a bit more spicy but the amount listed is good for those who are spice sensitive (I'm giving it 4 stars because I was expecting more spice. Nonetheless this was tasty!). It was simple and quick to make and was very pretty to look at :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I made this recipe just now; my immediate reaction is... underwhelmed. It sounded like a really good recipe with a cajun flair, but it sorta fizzled out for me. The sauce has an aroma that promises endless flavor, but it leaves the palette a bit disappointed. The thin sauce can't really lend much help to the al dente pasta and the cajun heat I was hoping for really wasn't there. I used an Emeril recipe to make the cajun seasoning from scratch, so maybe that's where something went awry - I don't know. It definitely isn't bad, I muddled it up a tiny bit by forgetting to peel the shrimp, but I don't think that changed much. I would suggest this for a light dinner with wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Thanks. This had a lot of flavor and I will definitely make it again. I used medium shells because I couldn't find orecchiette pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
this was fabulous. Followed recipes as is except used chicken as some had shell fish allergies. Also used more cajun spice-- I think mine was milder than some. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Next time I'll double the tomatoes, spinach, and cajun spices. But it was still very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Made this dish for my family. This is now one of my husbands favorite dishes. 3 out of the 4 kids liked it, so that is a huge win! I did what other commentor suggested and reduced butter to half and added olive oil. I also doubled the spinach and added more cajun seasoning. You just need your fresh baked bread and you are al set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This was so quick and easy did not use the wine added more chicken stock and this is something that you can adjust the spice to your liking will be making this again thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
"2 cups" is a confusing measurement for pasta which is usually describing in weight. I used a pound of pasta and there wasn't enough sauce. I did successfully stretch it with chicken stock but would recommend either doubling sauce for one pound or using 1/2 pound of pasta. Otherwise, it was a really good recipe. I modified only slightly by cooking down the tomatoes and wine a bit before adding the shrimp. That didn't help the volume but was great for the flavor. nice recipe with minor modifications. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
From my "not wild about shrimp" husband, this dish is "good enough for company!" I doubled the cajun spice and used three large handfuls of baby spinach changed the 1/3 C butter to half butter and half EVOO and used chicken broth instead of the wine. . I will DEFINITELY be making this again & will also try it using chicken as someone else recommended. Thank you Dawn for submitting this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Oro Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

New Orleans-Style Barbequed Shrimp

See how to make grill-free New Orleans-style barbequed shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States