Cajun Roasted Pork Loin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I made a small revision to this recipe. Instead of frying just the spices, I also chopped some carrot and celery very finely and added that to the skillet as well. My partner dislikes celery, so I try to hide it from him. I then pressed this mix into the slits and rubbed over the loin. I did add some carrots and celery to the pan, but I think it was really the spice mix that was responsible for the wonderful flavour. Oh, and certainly the most wonderful gravy I've ever tasted came from this recipe. I would have rated 5 stars, but the pork was a bit tough. I may have needed more liquid in the pan, or it may have been the cut--I can't be sure. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I cooked this in the crock pot on low for 8 hours. I used the spices/seasonings as directed, making sure to really get some of it into the incisions in the loin and rubbing the rest all over. Next, I added a bit of celery salt and black pepper all over the pork loin also. I put a whole can of chicken broth and added some dashes of worcestershire sauce into the crock pot and layered the onion on the bottom. I set the loin on top and then put in white potatoes and carrots. The pork loin was so incredibly tender, it broke apart when I removed it from the pot. I transferred the meat and vegetables to serving dishes and put the juice into a skillet on the stove and added flour and a bit of salt to make the gravy. My guests raved over this dinner. Wonderful and easy for those who enjoy using a crock pot too. Thank you Patti for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I made this for dinner last night looking for something different. I only used a 2 lb roast tho. It was very spicy and had lots of flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda_lynn0660

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I used pork roast. I combined a BUNCH of different herbs and spices: chili powder, onion powder, garlic powder, tarragon, cardamon, dried mustard, thyme, sage and a touch of nutmeg. And because I'm cooking for two so used 1 lb rather than 3 or 4, the timing was much less - I'm pretty sure it was about 45 minutes... The vegies were perfecto! The only reason I gave it a 4 is because I didn't follow the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann in NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
The only way i'd make this again is if I tripled the seasonings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meplus3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I did the dry rub and then pan sered the roast on all sides with a little butter. Very tasty and my family (even the kids) enjoyed this roast. I will make this again. Mrs. Morrispn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This is an easy recipe that tastes great. I added more garlic, but that is just a personal preference. I will be saving this recipe as a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Banff, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Absolutely delicious recipe! Next time will double the spices, otherwise it is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Awesome recipe. I didn't change anything other than seared my loin on the grill first and then place it in a roasting pan covered with tinfoil and finshed it on the grill. I had two small loins about a pound each. It took about 45-55 minutes to cook. Easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was great! The gravy is quite spicy however not overbearing. I removed the vegetables to a bowl at the same time I removed the roast to make the gravy. I then added the vegetables to the gravy. Awesome recipe I will keep and use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iz Cookin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple-Brined Roasted Pork Loin

Make a simple brine and delicious maple glaze for roasted pork.

Roasted Pork Loin

See how to make a succulent, fragrant pork roast with garlic and rosemary.

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

An incredibly simple, flavorful pork roast that needs just four ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States