Cajun Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Ok Well this recipe was WAY off, but it's really good when done correctly. If you leave this in for 8-10 hours it's going to be a brick! I had a larger roast and it was over done at like 4 hours when I started to temp it. Start to temp this after two or three hours and it should come out ok. If you do over cook it, just slice it up and put it in a pot with gravy and it will come out more moist, and will be like pot roast. Then Add the original drippings to the gravy depending on how spicy you would like it. The flavor of this was REALLY great though! I highly recomned this, just remember to temp it earlier than the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
The flavor is awesome tasty!! I cooked my 3lb roast for 5 hours and it was a little dry, but putting the drippings on it made it wonderful! Next time I'm going to try doubling the ingredients except the roast and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kylee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I gotta tell you that I made this and even without the Horseradish it was very good. I did add a little beef broth because I was afraid that it would be too dry and I wasn't going to be home to check on it. We made sandwiches out of it and it was gone fast. Next time I'm going to try it with the Horse radish and buy a bigger cut of roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
My whole family loved it. I added a little extra cajun seasoning per some other comments and it was pretty spicy. I used a 4 lb top round roast cut in half and doubled the recipe. Didn't marinate the night before, but it was still great. We cooked it all day, so it was past med. but it was so tender it just shredded into pieces. We mixed in the sauce. Some of us made sandwiches and some put it on mashed potatoes. Definately a keeper! A refreshing change from italian beef in a crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I doubled this and used it as a marinade for 5 pounds of moose. The next day we added a bottle of beer to the mixture and let it rest for 30-45 minutes at room temp and then slowly grilled the meat (topped with bacon). I do not eat moose, but received lots of positive feedback and was asked immediately for the recipe. We will be using this recipe again soon. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Very good, my husband loved it, not too spicy, I did add a half a beer to the slow cooker so there sould be some juices for gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
might add more garlic next time...also, used cider vinegar instead of malt vinegar and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
The flavor was really good. I did not have the HR sauce at the time when I marinaied my roast. I did put a couple of Tbs HR sauce on the roast when I put it in the crock pot. I added some garlic to the marinaide as well and DOUBLED the spices cus we like a lot of flavor. Flavor we got! This would be really good on some buttered toasted buns for sandwiches. You could use the spices as a rub for smoking ribs, brisket or an arm roast. I will make this again...maybe next time putting on a pork roast. Thanks!UPDATE: WITH THE LEFT OVERS WE PUT ON SANDWHICHES AND ALSO IN FLOUR TORT. I ALSO UP ON PITA BREAD THE PUT A LAYER OF MOTZ CHEESE AND BAKED IN THE OVEN FOR 8 MIN. AT 350. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I was looking for a new way to roast a venison backstrap and found this recipe. The spice blend is fabulous! The flavor really permeates and tenderizes. Using half a backstrap, I marinated in this and roasted for 25 minutes at 375 (for rare), then allowed to rest for 10 minutes before slicing. Hubby and I both thought the flavor was perfect! Many thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
The marinade sounds great. When I make this, I'll do it the way I've made eye of round before. High temp. to start ( 425-450.) roast 15 min. per pound. Without opening oven, lower heat to 250 and roast another 1 to 1 1/2 hrs. til med. rare. This keeps the meat tender and juicy and very pink in the center. I did this with a 2# roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States