Cajun Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I cooked mine on low for 4 hours and it was very dry. There wasn't much flavor either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I doubled this and used it as a marinade for 5 pounds of moose. The next day we added a bottle of beer to the mixture and let it rest for 30-45 minutes at room temp and then slowly grilled the meat (topped with bacon). I do not eat moose, but received lots of positive feedback and was asked immediately for the recipe. We will be using this recipe again soon. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Great recipe- came out with wonderful flavor! Was slightly dry (but might be due more to cut of meat?) Would highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I gotta tell you that I made this and even without the Horseradish it was very good. I did add a little beef broth because I was afraid that it would be too dry and I wasn't going to be home to check on it. We made sandwiches out of it and it was gone fast. Next time I'm going to try it with the Horse radish and buy a bigger cut of roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
The flavor is awesome tasty!! I cooked my 3lb roast for 5 hours and it was a little dry, but putting the drippings on it made it wonderful! Next time I'm going to try doubling the ingredients except the roast and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kylee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
The flavor wasn't what I had hoped for. It was too bland for me and to dry. It was a nice base though for a few changes I plan on making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
The marinade didn't give my roast much flavour. It only needed 3 hours on high in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genevieve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Gibbons, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This had great taste, but I follwed the time reqd. and had a very dry roast. I am going to only do for about 4-5 hours. It also only fed 4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This was fantastic. Like a previous reviewer, I used cider vinegar because I didn't have malt. I put in extra horseradish because we like spice, but it actually wasn't too spicy. Great taste, though. I cooked it for 8 hours on low, then sliced it and put it back in the original drippings. We used it in steak Po'Boy sandwiches (french bread, mayo, lettuce, tomato). Really, really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Ok Well this recipe was WAY off, but it's really good when done correctly. If you leave this in for 8-10 hours it's going to be a brick! I had a larger roast and it was over done at like 4 hours when I started to temp it. Start to temp this after two or three hours and it should come out ok. If you do over cook it, just slice it up and put it in a pot with gravy and it will come out more moist, and will be like pot roast. Then Add the original drippings to the gravy depending on how spicy you would like it. The flavor of this was REALLY great though! I highly recomned this, just remember to temp it earlier than the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Peppercorn Roast Beef

See how to make juicy, pepper-crusted tri-tip roast beef.

All-American Roast Beef

Tying the roast, and cooking at high heat, ensure even roasting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States