Cajun Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Fantastic if you are into potato soups or chowders. I make the recipe exactly as stated except for the chicken broth. Usually I use broth made from marinated chicken for the grill or some form of broth coming from a slow-cooker dish. The dish is GREAT and have some in the freezer on stand-by all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian York

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vonnie
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Delicious! The soup is very rich. I changed the recipe a little by adding a can of sauerkraut to it to add an extra tang and some crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Delicious and so easy to throw together!! I had a 14 oz. package of the sausage and some spinach to use up. I made a half recipe with a few minor adjustments. I used 4 medium red skinned potatoes-not peeled; I used just under 2 cups of chicken broth (didn't want to waste the can once opened) about 2 1/2 cups of fat free half and half instead of the milk and cream and about 6 oz. of spinach. Once ready I tasted and decided to add a few shakes of salt and pepper and one packet of chicken bouillion (the salf free kind) to suite my taste. I served it with hot garlic bread. I think any sausage would work with this soup. Perfect for this snowy night!! Hubby had 2 big bowls and packed up a big serving to have for lunch tomorrow...enough said! Thanks for this recipe-it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Not nearly enough flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Delicious! This has become my favorite soup that I've ever made before, made it multiple times already and it never gets old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Ive made this many times and love it. Ive won a soup off and always had compliments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Excellent taste! Was a bit greasy,I had substituted hot Italian sausage along with Andouille sausage.Is that what made it a bit on the greasy side?? Was great none the less.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ToT
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I have to say the first time I made this I was saying it wouldn't work because it was bass ackwards. But I continued with the recipe only adding a head of chopped cabbage and putting a bag of frozen corn in close to the end. I was getting ready for card night and thought I may have to resort to another meal. I didn't, this soup turned out great and has became my new #1 replacing the Delicious Ham and Potato Soup recipe on the site. Since then I have made the soup several times and have made it the same was each time. My photo shows the corn and cabbage, Oh so good... Two thumbs up, Thanks Chris.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ToT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stigler, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This was delicious! Of course, I modified it somewhat according to what I had on hand. I diced and sauteed a half pound of bacon, drained it, and added. Reduced Andouille sausage to 12 oz. which I also sauteed to reduce fat content. Used half and half and 2% milk.. I'll use non-fat half and half and 1% milk next time. Added diced celery which I sauteed with a bit of the bacon fat and onions. I used Yukon Gold potatoes. Omitted Italian seasoning and used Creole seasoning and 1/2 teaspoon of pepper instead. Omitted parmesan cheese and added 4 oz. Cheddar-jack cheese. This is the perfect fall and winter meal, served with cornbread or garlic bread. I will be making this again. This is my favorite All recipes recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup V

See how to make a rich, creamy baked potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States