Cajun Pasta Fresca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This is an ok dish. i made exactly as written, fresh tomatoes and all. as is i would not make again but if i did decide to make again the main thing i would leave out is the mozzarella. it seemed odd in this dish. i think it may have been added into the recipe as a thickener, but it really messes up the consistency of this simple pasta dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa r

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Mmm this is amazing! I one-and-a-halfed this (not quite doubled it if that makes any sense), so I chopped 3 tomatoes to go along with one 28oz can of diced tomatoes. I added more minced garlic than the revised proportions called for, and replaced the salt with freshly ground pepper. My only qualm was too much mozzarella cheese, due to personal preference, so next time I'll decrease. But wow- amazing dish, a keeper! Thanks :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This is a very light and flavorful pasta dish. We loved it!! I made this exactly as written, and I can't wait to change it up here and there with shrimp or chicken. Thanks so much for posting this recipe; it will be a "regular" at our dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Nice light pasta dish and very quick to put together which is a definite plus. I enjoyed it, but for some reason it didn't really "wow" my taste buds. I will make again when I am in the mood for a light pasta dish though. I also tossed in some grilled Cajun Chicken (recipe also on this site) as LTH suggested. Made a good lunch. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I really enjoyed this dish. I didn't add anything else to it and my boyfriend said it needed more veggies or meat. Maybe next time I'll add some blackened chicken or something for him. I thought the amount of pasta was too much and only ended up using about 2/3 of the box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leland, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This is delicious. I added more cajun season (1 and a half TB). I also used less pasta. will def. make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Even though I made a few mods and mine should be called "Cajun Pasta CANNA", I'm still reviewing this cause it shows how versatile it is. I had a box of whole wheat penne I wanted to use, so I used that in place of vermicelli. I did not have any fresh tomatoes, so I subbed 2 14.5 oz cans of diced. I added a couple of slices of onion, diced to the EVOO/garlic. I also added some pre-grilled/shredded chicken that had been marinated in Cajun Chicken marinade (from here on AR). I actually measured the cheeses (and used slightly less) to keep the calorie count down and this was a great weeknight meal. It's nothing I'd serve company, but we WILL eat this again. Next time, I think I'll add some spinach to get some veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was pretty good. Nothing super standout about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcollins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
WOW!!!!! SOOOOOO GOOD!!! Made half the suggested serving size (i.e. 4 serving's worth) for my fiance and I Thursday night. I pretty much followed Nicole's directions to the letter, with the exception of the following: a) I added about 1/8 c. more mozzarella/Parm cheese than called for, b) used a full t garlic, c) used up all 8 roma tomatoes I had on hand instead of 6 1/2 as suggested (I feared a dry end product otherwise) and d) used a full T of Creole seasoning for more flavor (I scaled the salt to half though). My pasta of choice was spaghettini. My local Italian market did not have vermicelli (go figure!). Perhaps the two are the same??? Oh, and I added some pre-cooked tail-on shrimp (added during last 5 minutes of cooking), but my fiance and I both agree that protein is not necessary (and we didn't care for the taste of the shrimp in this at all). I think blackened chicken would be a better choice (IMHO). Served with garlic bread and wine, this was a lovely meal. What a great way to use summer's bounty of fresh tomatoes!!! Thanks so much for sharing, Nicole :) This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This was delicious! I added the Cajun seasoning to taste and didn't use salt, used more garlic and added 2 chopped chicken breasts that I had in the freezer, they had been marinated in the Smokey Tequila Marinade recipe then grilled. I didn't use the mozzarella. Next time I'm going to sprinkle the cheese on top because it kind of disappeared into the sauce. The fresh tomatoes were so much better than canned. Also, I think it's important to add something- chicken, broccoli, spinach, mushrooms, even tofu- to make the dish a bit more substantial. All in all, we really enjoyed this and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

Cajun Chicken Pasta

See how to make a creamy chicken sauté served over linguine.

Pasta Pomodoro

See how to make a simple, flavorful fresh tomato sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States