Cajun Pasta Fresca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This is delicious! I did use a big can (28 oz) of petite diced tomatoes instead of fresh tomatoes, and angel hair instead of vermicelli. Also, since I was using canned tomatoes, I only sprinkled a little salt, instead of the 1 Tablespoon called for. I topped with sliced blackened chicken (recipe from this site), and my husband and son loved it...couldn't believe it was all low fat. The only change I would make in the future is to put in less pasta, and to use whole wheat pasta. I used 16 oz pasta.....would probably use 8-10 oz. instead next time. Delicious! Will definitely make again. By the way, the cajun seasoning I used was "Slap Ya Mama" from Ville Platte, Louisiana. I have found it here in the Gulf Coast of Texas, and saw it on vacation once in Destin, Florida (slapyamama.com). I like it because it's not as salty as some other popular brands of cajun seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
This was a fantastically fresh alternative to ordinary pasta sauce. I added some extra veggies (zucchini, spinach and mushrooms) and it made a tasty primavera. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
This is really great. I have made this recipe many many times! I am just finally getting around to reviewing it. My husband asks for this often. The fresh taste of tomatoes accented by the Cajun seasoning. Yum Yum. I always use Penne pasta. It just seems to go nicely with the sauce. (I actually don’t care too much for vermicelli pasta; I like to really taste and feel the texture of my noodles -and vermicelli lacks that for me.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by family of five

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I did use several cloves of minced garlic instead of measuring out teaspoons. I also used a homemade Cajun seasoning blend and omitted the additional salt. Oh, man. This is to DIE FOR. My family loved this pasta dish--we fought over the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I added some fresh basil to this recipe, along with chicken and shrimp, and it was quite good. I think more tomatoes than recommended would be better next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alinkochan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
This is a very easy to make recipe that is great when you are short on time. The cajun spice mix you use is everything to the recipe, so choose wisely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cory R. King

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I had to restrain myself from eating too much of this tonight. Yeah, it was that good. I sauteed some sweet mini peppers before adding the garlic and tomatoes just for a little more interest and complexity. The Cajun seasoning I used was Coleen Deon's "Cajun Spice Mix," also from this site, and I was very pleased with it. In addition to the olive oil I added butter as well, which made this silky and rich. Loved the addition of the two cheeses, but don't be tempted to add too much mozzarella or you'll risk making this stringy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Sola
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
Very good! I reduced the salt to 2 tsp, used 2 tsp of dried parsley and subbed monteray jack for the mozzarella cos that is what I had. Turns out really well, especially since I cooked it in my large electric skillet, there was plenty of room to toss everything together. This recipe doesn't suffer from the "not quite enough tomatoes" problem that some do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Mmm this is amazing! I one-and-a-halfed this (not quite doubled it if that makes any sense), so I chopped 3 tomatoes to go along with one 28oz can of diced tomatoes. I added more minced garlic than the revised proportions called for, and replaced the salt with freshly ground pepper. My only qualm was too much mozzarella cheese, due to personal preference, so next time I'll decrease. But wow- amazing dish, a keeper! Thanks :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Helen
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Delicious. I diced up three fresh garden tomatoes and used one can of low-sodium diced tomatoes. Add a bit of mushroom and it is wonderful!! Such a light and healthy meal. I will def. be cooking this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

Cajun Chicken Pasta

See how to make a creamy chicken sauté served over linguine.

Pasta Pomodoro

See how to make a simple, flavorful fresh tomato sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States