Cajun Jambalaya Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This is the second time I used the recipe and both times it was a hit. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cerritos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Good, but spicy. I used a Jambalia mix and it made it too spicy to even eat, and I love spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Boettger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alanson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pellston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This was really good and extremely easy to make! The only reason I give it 4 stars instead of five, is because my family thought the spanish rice gave it too much of a mexican food flavor. I will definitely make this again, but next time will either try to find a cajun rice, or will make my own. Thanks for this tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenMama88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
...it was good for being such a quickly made dish, but the weakest link was the pre-packaged rice, which inadvertently gave the entire dish that "pre-packaged" taste/quality. Will try other recipes again before reverting to this one, but I would not rule out making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Hubby tells me that this dish needs to go in the weekly rotation! I made it exactly as the recipe says. It was very easy and oh so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missmiavega

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palestine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Easy and tasty! We added a small onion but otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holyrood, Kansas, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Delicious! I didn't have Knorr's Spanish rice so I used Mexican instead & added salt, pepper, paprika & a smidgen or cayenne. Next time I'd reduce the water & remember to add the shrimp in at the end! Wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenj5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
So easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Waipio, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
very good, i hate shrimp and still liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This is not how I would cook Jambalaya, but it was an easy start for me to teach someone else who thought Zataran brand Jambalaya was the best. We added onions and celery sweated in bacon fat, both andouille and kielbasa, bacon, bay leaves, thyme, hot sauce, red pepper flakes, canned stewed tomatos, chicken stock and worcestershire. The broth was awesome, but the addition of the rice packet seemed to darken the flavors of the dish. A dash of sugar helped, but I think in the end we made gumbo instead of jambalaya, and if I had to do it again, I would just use about 1/2 cup of short grain rice. Overall, a good starter recipe. My roomie learned some prep technique and some important flavor combination techniques. Make it again? Sure...with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States