Cajun Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
It taste quite good, although a little bland. I thickened it a little by adding okra and filè. Just a little cayenne, La Hot sauce, oregano, and 1 ground jalapeno rounded out the taste to make it actually taste cajun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I followed the recipe except for using a 12 oz box of dirty rice and we loved it!! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I have made this several times now for different occasions. My whole family loves it, which is no small thing! It seems to reheat well if there are leftovers---I say "seems" because my children love it so much they fight over the leftovers and I have never actually had a chance to reheat and eat any for myself. Like other reviewers, I find that doubling the rice works very well for our taste. I also add sauted garlic and onions to the meat. I have used pork sausage(in addtion to the beef) but have found using mild Italian sausage to be the best combo for us. Some reviewers have critized that this is not truly "Dirty Rice"---maybe not, but it doesn't change the fact that it makes for some very good eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This was really good. This dish alone is a meal itself! Served with Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya, corn on the cob, and Super Easy Mardi Gras King Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Wonderful...I did what others did....used two boxes of dirty rice and 4 cups of Chicken broth. I browned the hot pork sausage, cut up a lb of hot link sausage and dumped it all in the crockpot. Yes, it does smell weird when its cooking. After 4 hours.....great. Will make again. Dont add any extra salt....pretty salty. I did tweek it with some tabasco......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt B
Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Valley Mills, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This has awesome flavor, and it's quick and easy to make. The leftovers (if you have any) are even better. My husband took the leftovers to work and shared it with his buddies, and they all wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Great dish. I substituted a can of crushed tomatoes for the tomatoes with green chilies because I couldn't find them at my local grocery. It was lacking the spice from the chilies, however this was perfect for a group of kids who have picky tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
good ingredients but this is not dirty rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
If you like cajun, you will love this! I made a few adjustments tho because I was actually looking for a red beans and rice recipe. I did not add ground beef, used yellow rice mix instead of dirty rice mix, and added bell and hot peppers. For the sausage I used andouille sausage (so good!!!!!). I also added a little bit of creole seasoning to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsLucas10

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Made this for a group of friends and they scarfed it down!! I don't usually like spicy foods but this was WAY too good to not eat! I actually used 3 packages of rice and forgot to triple the rest of the parts of the recipe, but it was incredible. Everyone's been stopping by for the leftovers. DEFINITELY a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States