Cajun Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Being from South Louisiana, I have to say that this is more of a Jambalaya than a dirty rice, as there are no ground chicken livers in it and dirty rice does not usually contain sausage or beans. Will not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Scott, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2001
I absolutely ADORE this recipe!! I double the recipe and take to parties. I usually cut back on the ground beef a little bit. When I double the recipe I usually only use 1 1/2 pounds ground beef. I also use one can milder Rotel and one can regular Rotel, so that it's not too spicy. I also recommend starting the onion with a little garlic before throwing in the meat...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYVOLFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I made this tonight, and it was great! I served it with cornbread, and it was an awesome meal! I did made some changes, though. I halved the recipe because it was only for 2 people, but as other people suggested I doubled the amount of dirty rice mix (so in my case I used 1 box of the mix). Even with making only 1/2 the recipe, I still had plenty of rice leftover--it will make great lunches along with the leftover cornbread. The changes I made included adding some green and yellow bell peppers, as well as 3 cloves of crushed garlic. I also doubled the amount of tomatoes with chilis, as I like tomatoes and spicy food. Also, since I am a vegetarian, I used meatfree "ground beef" & spicy "sausage" (I use Morningstar Farms, which tastes so much like the real thing that no one believes it is vegetarian and totally meat free!). This was really good, and I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDYNBRON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I used one pound ground beef and one pound hot pork sausage.I took this to a pot luck at work. Most of my co-works are from Lousiana, due to being so close to there. They are very picky when it comes to things claiming to be "Cajun" as most of them are. Here's a comparison, my heart sank when one of the LA co-works made home-made dirty rice. I figured mine would not be touched since it came from a 'box'. However, not true, this recipe was eaten up first before the original. However, I was informed true dirty rice uses chicken gizzards/liver. Not ground beef. But they loved it just the same. So I recommend this recipe. It's a good one! (I will leave out the tomatoes/green chili's next time - I just didn't like it and I did not add the beans either)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This was an awesome dish. My boyfriend always adds tabasco to everything I make, but for this dish there was no need. I used hot sausages and hot chilies with the tomatoes. Next time I may tone it down, since I started to break a sweat while eating it. But it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Jourdanton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
Great addition to my pre-Mardi Gras party. I cooked it in a crock pot to finish the rice and it was terrific. The flavors were great and not to spicy for non-cajun eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
Great week-night dinner! Instead of 2 8-oz. boxes of rice mix, I used 1 12-oz. box. To cut down on fat content, I used 1 lb. of 96% lean ground beef & 1 lb. skinless chicken breast, chopped. When I browned the meat & onion, I seasoned w/ Emeril's Essence. I also used dark & light kidney beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaOutNAbout

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This is soooooo good. We had a Fish Fry and I made this. Everyone raved about how good it was. I used Chicken Broth instead of water and the rice was very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRSTLADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
We loved this recipe, but had to make a couple of alterations. I used only 1 can of Kidney beans as that what all I had on hand. But, I am in agreeement with other viewers, one box of rice mix is not enough. It only makes dirty meat:)so i added another box and 2 more cups of water. Also I used Hot Pork Sausage in place of the beef sausage. It makes a whole lot and every one enjoyed it. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
Used pork Italian sausage and red beans and topped it with cajun seasoning. Made a very tasty, filling dinner with enough leftovers for lunch the next two days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: East Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States