Cajun Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I followed the recipe completely but once the food was done i felt it was way too meaty! the flavor was perfect though. if i made this again i would use half the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cabo Rojo, Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Hubby says this is an eight, though a bit hot, and he is of Mexican heritage (though I am not and thought it was merely spicy.) I doubled the rice mix, as others recommended, otherwise there would be way too much meat. And beware, this makes a LOT. I will have to freeze half of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I made this tonight, and it was great! I served it with cornbread, and it was an awesome meal! I did made some changes, though. I halved the recipe because it was only for 2 people, but as other people suggested I doubled the amount of dirty rice mix (so in my case I used 1 box of the mix). Even with making only 1/2 the recipe, I still had plenty of rice leftover--it will make great lunches along with the leftover cornbread. The changes I made included adding some green and yellow bell peppers, as well as 3 cloves of crushed garlic. I also doubled the amount of tomatoes with chilis, as I like tomatoes and spicy food. Also, since I am a vegetarian, I used meatfree "ground beef" & spicy "sausage" (I use Morningstar Farms, which tastes so much like the real thing that no one believes it is vegetarian and totally meat free!). This was really good, and I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDYNBRON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This stuff is great. I use half a pound each of sausage and hamburger. I've made this a few times, and once for my boyfriend's family. Now they're requesting it for Christmas dinner! Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Me and my finance loved this recipe! He is a very picky eater, and it is hard to get him to enjoy new recipes, but he loved it. We will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This is great, but I didn't have any ground beef, so I doubled the sausage...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This is great - everything you would expect from dirty rice. Thank you for the idea of making it into a main dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
Great week-night dinner! Instead of 2 8-oz. boxes of rice mix, I used 1 12-oz. box. To cut down on fat content, I used 1 lb. of 96% lean ground beef & 1 lb. skinless chicken breast, chopped. When I browned the meat & onion, I seasoned w/ Emeril's Essence. I also used dark & light kidney beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaOutNAbout

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
I thought this was really good. I left out the hamburger altogether and used red beans but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Easy to throw together and just the right amount of spiciness. Do serve with buttered corn bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
A tip for those of you only cooking for 2, I recommend cutting this in half. I doubled the rice like everyone suggested and it was great but WAY too much food. I would suggest cutting everything in half (except the rice mix).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States