Cajun Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Ok, I really liked this recipe, as did my entire family. This was my first attempt at making dirty rice, so I was rather impressed with it! I changed up a few things though. Instead of Rotel, I used salsa. It did the job. I also used hamburger meat and chicken, instead of sausage. I didn't use a boxed seasoning mix, either. Instead, I used crushed red pepper flakes, creole seasoning, garlic, onio, and chili powders. Oh, and I only had one kind of red beans, so I used that, and I added some frozen corn. It was an awesome meal. Oh, and I made it with brown rice instead of white. I basically used what I had on hand, and the dish still turned out great! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty433

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: La Marque, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Was a little disappointed in this recipe. Possibly could have been the boxed rice, but found it not to be very tasty. Will probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh's Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
My husband really liked this! We used andouille sausage instead of the beef sausage. Also, we used 2 boxes of dirty rice mix with 4 cups of water as suggested in previous reviews. We used green onions and a 14oz can of diced tomatoes(without the chiles). I personally am not a big fan of anything too spicy but I even think this dish has great flavor! We will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
No, no, no! You will have to call this delicious dish something else! Good, but does not taste like Dirty Rice. The old folks used chopped chicken giblets and seasonings and nothing else. I am going to make your dish; I think I'll leave the red beans out. I will not be eating cornbread with it, but a big baked sweet potato. Hy--eeeee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This is NOT Dirty Rice; it's more of a Red Beans & Rice dish. Dirty Rice doesn't have beans in it. With that being said, we liked this dish. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This recipe is so good you'll have no leftovers. I made this recipe for a Saturday party as a side dish to a shrimp boil. I used jalapeno sausage to add some extra spice. I was craving it the following day and, as there were no leftovers, made it once again to satisfy my taste buds! Super easy to make and super easy to eat! I'm emailing the recipe to a friend who loved this dish so much that she is making it for her own party 1 1/2 weeks later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Was very easy - did not use the pork or kidney beans. Seemed like too much meat and husband hates kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Great Dinner - esp. in fall/winter! I used two boxes of rice mix, 1 lb ground beef, and one link of beef smoked sausage (from a 2-link 14 oz pkg) cut into thin slices. It made a ton! Next time, I will cut my recipe in half, since I'm only cooking for 2. DEFINITELY add sour cream to garnish each serving - it makes the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
LOVED IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I only used 1/3 lb of kielbasa instead if 1 lb and 1 can kidney beans instead of two. That was enough and it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States