Cajun Deep-Fried Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
We've discovered frying turkeys in Austin, Texas ten years ago. When we came to the Florida Keys, we discovered Mojo Criollo, the Cuban marinade. Strain this and inject. It's soo much better than the commercial injectables! We spread a generous mixture of mustard, Tony Cachere's cajun seasoning and Worcestershire sauce between the body and the skin and let the turkey sit overnight. I agree, measuring the amount of oil needed by immersing in water rather than oil is much more economical. Just make sure it's dry before lowering it into the hot oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
From all the horror stories I've heard about burning down houses and the severe burns from this deep frying technique that's a good idea of measuring by placing the bird in the fryer first and put enough water in to cover the bird by at least an inch and then remove it and mark or measure from the top so you don't over fill with oil, one of the biggest mistakes made with this style of cooking. To be on the safe side I would place the turkey in an oven at 200*-250* for 15-20 minutes to preheat and dry the bird out before lowering it in the super hot oil. I would even put on a rain coat and use rubber gloves and a clear full face shield to protect your face when lowering the bird in the cooker. Not only attend the frying often don't under any circumstances fire this cooker up anywhere near your house or even under a tree, keep it out in the middle of your driveway so even grass couldn't catch fire. I know this a lot of precautions but better safe than sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LD Meyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
great recipe! we use water to get the depth of oil we need and mark the side of the pot. Using oil to measure and having to remove the bird...makes it too messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Warning! If this is your first time frying a turkey, you might want to avoid a Cajun rub. I used it on my first fried turkey. After the appropriate time had elapsed, I pulled the bird out of the oil and it was BLACK! Not dark brown, but the color of your car tires. My first thought was "I hope KFC is open today." I took it inside and put it on the table. Everyone looked at it with their mouth hanging open. Dinner was ruined. Finally, my teenage nephew cut off a piece and tried it and said, "This is really good." He was right. It was the best turkey I had ever had. I realized I had made 'blackened turkey'. A few years ago, the price of peanut oil went through the roof and the size of the container went from 5 gal to 3 gal. It would have cost me nearly $70 just for the oil and I said, no more. My wife bought me an oil-less turkey fryer made by CharBroil. Instead of using 5 gal. of oil, I now use about a handful to rub on the skin. It cooks just as fast and tastes almost the same, with no danger of spilling hot oil or trying to figure out what to do with it after it cools down. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Barnett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Delicious, for this of you looking for the garlic/onion juice, I used the Howards Garlic and Onion juice, it was amazing. You can find it in some grocery stores but you can also get it online if needed. Defintely will be cooking this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I usually purchase ready made injector but we have eliminated black pepper from our diet and reduced our salt, so I will be using this recipe from now on and just substitute white pepper. For those looking for garlic juice and onion juice, it can be found at most larger grocery stores, just ask where to find it. In addition to following another reviewers advice, I made only half which was enough for a 12 pound turkey. But I thought it would be too spicy with both hot sauce and cayenne, so I skipped the cayenne and it was perfect for adults and children alike. I found it needed some extras so I added a few shakes of nutmeg, 1 Tbsp of granulated onion and granulated garlic, 1 Tbsp of prepared mustard and 1 tsp of ground mustard, 1 tsp chili powder and 1/2 tsp chipotle sauce. We got rave reviews from the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Want to try this but...where the heck do you find onion juice these days? I don't think I've seen that since the 70's...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Great flavor! I will probably cut this recipe in half next year as I had a lot left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mad Dawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Herriman, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
wow a must to try...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Breda, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Didnt get to deep fry it because no one brought me a fryer so I marinated for like 3 days then baked it in the oven it was so good it all feel off the bone it was excellent best turkey I ever had a lil spicy to some people but it was great even my kids ate it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NatePuppysWifey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade

This marinade makes a tasty, moist, flavorful bird.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States