Cajun Deep-Fried Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lawrence Clark
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I haven't fried a turkey since 1999 and it turned out better than I thought. I injected the turkey with Toney Chachere's creole style butter marinade and rubbed creole seasoning under the skin. It was really juicy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I decided to purchase a "test turkey" before Thanksgiving to try this recipe. I followed the recipe with one substitution, I added 1 tablespoon of Tone's Cajun Seasoning instead of the cayenne and the results were AWESOME! Very flavorful, juicy and just a hint of spice. I also sprinkled a little of the seasoning on the turkey and in the cavity. The family loved the results. This will be the first Thanksgiving that I will be hosting for 12-14 people and I expect this to be a hit. -ChefPierre
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Haven't tried this recipe yet. I will for Thanksgiving this year. I did want to point out an electric fryer with a closing lid is much easier and safer than the propane kind. Another advantage is you can cook inside. When you're done there's a release valve to empty the fryer and put the oil back in its original container(s). I've fried turkeys for almost twenty years and this is by far the safest and simplest way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelvin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I used this recipe for a turkey I killed during turkey season and it was great! It was my first time ever frying a turkey and it turned out absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This is by far my fav recipe for holidays! I don't make anything else for thanksgiving and Christmas anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Perfect...Fool proof!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Best turkey I ever had, very juicy and flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alejandra Galicia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Have used a very similar recipe for years. Some tips: to determine how much oil to use, place turkey in pot and cover with water. Remove the turkey and mark the water level; fill to this level with oil. Much less messy than submerging turkey in oil and removing. Also I have found that 3 1/2 minutes per pound is necessary due to fluctuation in the temp of the oil particularly with a gas fired fryer. Works best with 12-15 # birds. Hope there is no need to say this is to be done outside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I have fried well over one thousand turkeys since the eighties. It is a wonderful way to enjoy the bird, but it doesn't need to be so complicated. Oil heated to 350 F., 3 1/2 minutes per pound (the bird will float when it is nearly done). Peanut oil isn't necessary unless you plan on cooking a whole bunch of them. Nor is injecting anything. Take a THAWED turkey (remove neck/giblets - pat dry - water is NOT your friend), trim off any excessive skin or fat, shake salt and cayenne pepper all over the bird (for extra heat, cover the insides with cayenne as well. Drop slowly into the heated oil (upright)and keep everyone away while it cooks (you would be surprised how normally intelligent people would reach in to touch the bird while it is in HOT oil). I always like to cook 10 - 12 # birds. I used a gaff to lift the bird when it was done, let it cool before slicing it up. Always delicious. I used to have six cooking at once, as many as thirty birds a night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morris, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
LOVE fried turkey. For Michael, I cut off the wings and legs and drop into the tub once the turkey is in. That way, you can remove when they are done. Hard to resist having a sample, though when they come out. Perks of being the cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade

This marinade makes a tasty, moist, flavorful bird.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States