Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
While I could initially taste the richness of this recipe it quickly was replaced by the extreme heat. I DID NOT use the cayenne pepper so as to keep the heat to a minimum but that did not matter. My son who really enjoys spicy/hot items could not finish the bowl he made for himself. So next time I will do a very small fraction on the other spices in the recipe. A shame I had to throw away the beautiful gulf shrimp I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Houghton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
This was delicious. I usually follow the recipe exactly the first time. This time I listened to the reviews and didn't add the cayenne pepper. I wish I had. It wasn't spicy enough, but still had excellent flavor. 15 minutes was plenty of time for my roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
This is a delicious and easy recipe!!! I cut back on the hot sauce and cayenne pepper, allowing individuals to add more if they liked. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jasper, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Really good! We felt like you could've used just shrimp & it would've still been a tasty dish. Used Chalula instead of Louisiana hot sauce to good effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This is simply awesome...maybe it was because I had Zydeco music playing as I was making this for my wife and I or it could be that it is the best Etouffee recipe out there. I went with crawfish only, which we both like more than shrimp, and it really brought us back to when we spent our vacation in Nawlin's last year. I only modified the recipe by using butter instead of veggie oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
OMG this recipe is to die for. My son and I love it and it has enough bite to make us Texans happy! It is a favorite for a cold, winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
this was easy and flavorful dish definitely going to make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This recipe is perfect as is. I made it for my husband, who's from southern Mississippi and he'd never had better etouffe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Laurel, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
this was a easy recipe to make and it turned out really good. the one thing i changed wad the oil i used coconut oil and just 1/4 cup. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Walker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Great easy quick and yummy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 355) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States