Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Great recipe and wonderful dish. I noticed a number of people had trouble finding fish stock - be advised that a great stock can be made by using the shrimp peelings as well as a few whole shrimp, a bay leaf, some celery, onion and pepper scraps in water set to boil then simmer for about 20 minutes then rough strain into a bowl. Quick and easy and it works beautifully in this recipe . No need to buy fish stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Wow, this one was a real treat! I lived in New Orleans for a few years, and this really took me back. Absolutely delicious, even better as leftovers! I used chicken stock instead of fish (that's what I had on hand), all shrimp and no crawfish, butter instead of vegetable oil, and only added a couple dashes of tabasco (instead of 2 tbsp + cayenne, since hubby doesn't do spicy). Even cutting the hot sauce waaay back, it was still a little too spicy for him. Go figure. I do think it would've been too spicy even for me, if I'd put in 2 tbsp of hot sauce, and I love spicy. Delicious, definitely a keeper!! Thank you so much for sharing it, Rhonda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This has become my go-to recipe for étouffée, love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wmowery
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I made this recipe as written and served it over linguini. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This was AMAZING!! I followed the recipe exactly minus I changed the oil to butter (cuz I'm just a butter kinda girl) My roux was beautiful! looked like a copper penny by the time I added the veggies, and talk about spicy!! I just cant say anything negative about this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humboldt, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I LOVE this! My whole family does. I just put in a little less hot stuff for my sensitive ones, and I also add cut up Andouille sausage which gives it even more awesome flavor. It's really not that hard to make. I actually enjoy it. I pour myself a glass of wine while I do my roux and it's done in no time! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Unbelievable!! Took my time, followed this recipe and it came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Great recipe! Instead of using shrimp I used andouille sausage and it came out excellent. Also, since I have a 6 and 4 year old I had to cut out the hot sauce and cayanne pepper, but it still had really good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elena
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I cooked this exactly the way recipe reads. We loves it! My husband said it's got mad flavor!! He feels like he is home in Louisiana! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
EXCELLENT! I left out the hot sauce and cayenne and made it with chicken, cut into bite sized pieces, and chicken broth. ( I didn't have any seafood on hand and was in the mood to make this :). )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States