Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
I ADORE etouffe, and this was a really good one. I used all shrimp due to availability - I live in the philistine part of the country that thinks crawfish are bait - and while it was good, I was really missing the crawfish. I can't wait to make this again when I can get my hands on some fresh crawdads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
While I could initially taste the richness of this recipe it quickly was replaced by the extreme heat. I DID NOT use the cayenne pepper so as to keep the heat to a minimum but that did not matter. My son who really enjoys spicy/hot items could not finish the bowl he made for himself. So next time I will do a very small fraction on the other spices in the recipe. A shame I had to throw away the beautiful gulf shrimp I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Houghton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
This was delicious. I usually follow the recipe exactly the first time. This time I listened to the reviews and didn't add the cayenne pepper. I wish I had. It wasn't spicy enough, but still had excellent flavor. 15 minutes was plenty of time for my roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
This is a delicious and easy recipe!!! I cut back on the hot sauce and cayenne pepper, allowing individuals to add more if they liked. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jasper, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Really good! We felt like you could've used just shrimp & it would've still been a tasty dish. Used Chalula instead of Louisiana hot sauce to good effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This is simply awesome...maybe it was because I had Zydeco music playing as I was making this for my wife and I or it could be that it is the best Etouffee recipe out there. I went with crawfish only, which we both like more than shrimp, and it really brought us back to when we spent our vacation in Nawlin's last year. I only modified the recipe by using butter instead of veggie oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
OMG this recipe is to die for. My son and I love it and it has enough bite to make us Texans happy! It is a favorite for a cold, winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
this was easy and flavorful dish definitely going to make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This recipe is perfect as is. I made it for my husband, who's from southern Mississippi and he'd never had better etouffe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Laurel, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
this was a easy recipe to make and it turned out really good. the one thing i changed wad the oil i used coconut oil and just 1/4 cup. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Walker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Sausage & Shrimp Jambalaya

See how simple it is to make rich and hearty Creole jambalaya.

Easy Cajun Jambalaya

A simple jambalaya with chicken and kielbasa and a kick that won’t overpower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States