Cajun Crabmeat Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I am a Personal Chef and I have made this for a few of my clients and my family. Everyone just fell in love with it. The only change that I made to it was I added some toasted bread crumbs about 3 minutes before I took it out of the over and it added a nice crunch. One of my clients used it as a Holiday Dip for her party and it ran out in the first 30 minutes of the party!!! Hats Off To You for a Job Well Done!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
This was an outstanding crab dish, Dennis! I served it at my seafood-themed brunch and people gobbled it right up. Unsure of the spicy-index of the crowd, I cut the salt, cayenne and Cajun seasoning in half. I increased the crab to 1 1/2 pounds, as well as the eggs to 3. Didn't seem to ruin the dish at all. Next time I'm making this for my family, I will go back to your original recipe. We like it spicey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
Took this to our friday night card party and everyone loved it. I did tweak the receipe somewhat. Used 3 cans of crabmeat instead of the lump. Also added 1/2 t old bay seasoning and 1/2 t garlic pepper. Instead of American Cheese, used a bag of mixed cheeses because that is what I had on hand. And believe it or not, this tastes even better the 2nd day! Thanks for the great recipe Dennis. It will become a staple for our parties for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
As a New Orleanian there is NO WAY I could use American cheese! lol (sorry recipe writer). I used all sharp cheddar and extra cayenne to spice it up. I also baked it WITH the green onion instead of adding it later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
I also live in Louisiana and have used this basic recipe for years. My family loves it! Instead of the heavy cream I use one can of evaporated milk and I also substitute the crab meat with Imitation crabmeat on occassion. This is only because one of my children deosn't like real crab (go figure?). Any way it is an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This is a decent recipe, but a little too salty. I would definitely make this again, but I will look for ways to cut the salt. Omit salt in recipe, rinse seafood before prep, check sodium profile on cheese, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This was sooooo good! My husband is also from Louisiana and he just loved it as well as my daughter. I gave 5 stars because I followed the recipe without diversion. I agree however with other users to omit the salt, but the family already told me this is a keeper! Thanks Dennis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
My family absolutely loved this recipe. I did add a little more cheese than required, but this is definitely the best crabmeat au gratin I have tasted/made. I like the fact that there were no bread crumbs to dry it out. I would highly recommend it (and have!) to anyone. In fact, I plan to prepare this for some very picky "cooks" in our family, and am convinced they will love it as well. It is also good as a dip with chips or crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Skip the American cheese, sustitue for a good sharp cheddar and my family loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
The only thing I didn't like is that it was a little too quiche-like. Don't get me wrong though, it was absolutely delicious...I was just hoping for something creamier like the one they serve at Ralph and Kacoo's in New Orleans. Next time I will omit the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Cajun Spiced Pork Chops

These tasty chops make an easy weeknight dinner with spices you have on hand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States