Cajun Crab Stuffed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I have made this recipe several times for entertaining and always receive many compliments on it. They turn out the best when following the recipe exactly as written, creamy and just the right amount of heat for the spices, but I have used different cheeses and less spices, just what I had on hand and it turns out great too. If there is any left over stuffing, it is great served over crackers too. Great finger food, and good for you. Thanks for sharing this recipe "milbax"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickiemama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Simply delicious! I used real crab instead of imitation and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I made these for our traditionally non traditional xmas meal 2012 and they were the hit of the meal! I did not have the mushrooms it calls for, so I used regular button mushrooms and it worked out just fine. Other changes I made, due to materials and taste were: I do not buy bread crumbs, I use croutons crushed. This time they were a garlic cheese flavor. I skipped the hot sauce due to taste of guests not being as hot as our family's taste, but have no doubt it would be great with it in as well. I chopped up the mushroom stems and added them to the filling. Last, I cooked them for an additional 5 minuets under the broiler. FANTASTIC!!!!!!!! Don't half the recipe because what is left over (and there will be leftover) makes the most awesome dip ever. I put it out as an appetizer with ritz style crackers and green onions. It was eaten before, during, and after the meal by people who were already "stuffed" but just couldn't help themselves. This stuff is GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Used Monterey Jack cheese instead of Colby-Jack. Baked in oven for 10 minutes instead of 7 and broiled for 10 minutes on the middle rack. Watch very carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Nice change to the standard stuffed mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by trustyfedora
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I made these for the first time today, and took them to a BBQ. EVERYONE thought they were great, even two of my buddies that have their own catering business, and my girlfriend who hates mushrooms. The only change I made was to use Gumbo File powder instead of seafood seasoning, to give it that lil creole flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trustyfedora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
We used this topping for 8 portobello caps for a main dish tonight. I had difficulty with my cream cheese/shredded cheese mixture being pretty dry, but I went forward anyway, thinking that the cream cheese would get too runny in the oven if I thinned it out up front. Must be the cheap cream cheese I bought -- it stayed pretty thick. I never could mix the bread crumbs in, but we didn't miss them. Because I was using this as a main dish, I used an entire 14-oz pkg of imitation crab. It took a bit of doing, but I was finally able to mix it into the cream cheese mixture. Because we left out the bread crumbs, I sprinkled a little more shredded cheese on top at the broiling stage. The flavor was good, though I think we'd prefer to use the topping on a loaf of French bread. The mushroom flavor overpowered the topping. I guess that's what I get for changing the recipe! We will definitely use the topping again, though not for mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Thank you for a great recipe. Took it to a neighborhood get together and it was gone in no time. I ended up baking it a little longer than called for but I will definitely put this on the keeper list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORIDER2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
left out breadcrumbs, cajun seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I added breakfast sausage to the mix, omitted the bread crumbs and sprinkled parmesan on top. Mine released a lot of juice in cooking and were a little soggy so I'll try them on a grate over a cookie sheet next time. Yum! I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States