Cajun Corn and Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I ended up having to use one pint of half and half in place of the milk and the cream and it was enough for the thickness I wanted for half the servings. I also added precooked small shrimp and cayenne red pepper for extra kick. Served topped with real bacon bits and the green onions with Cheesy garlic bread on the side. Absolutely wonderful on a cold day, rich and soothing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee Mission, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
wife and i loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Fantastic crab soup w/ bold Cajun flavor. If you like dishes where flavor is as hard to find as Waldo, move on because this isn’t for you. Added two fresh jalapenos, thinly sliced, and combined w/ onion & celery. For Cajun seasoning, we added 1 tablespoon Creole Seasoning Blend by Joslyn from this site and 1 tablespoon Badia Blackened Redfish Seasoning. For corn, used 1 can cream style sweet corn & about 1/2 cup frozen corn kernels. Subbed 32 ounces evaporated milk for milk & heavy cream. Subbed Old Bay Seasoning for the liquid shrimp and crab boil. This is the second recipe we’ve tried by YOYO78, and both were spot on perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
My husband and I are from south Louisiana, and he is OBSESSED with this! I didn't make any changes other than used solid crab boil since I couldn't find liquid, and I used Tony's where it calls for Cajun seasoning. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
it is super. I did not have the crab boil at hand so I omitted. I also replace chicken broth with home-made vegetable broth. I used 1 1/2 of heavy cream and 2 1/2 of 1% milk. I did not have enough heavy cream. However it turned out super creamy and rich. I will reduce the heavy cream in the future, for the sake of my waist line :). my bf loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Great recipe but the onion was a little overwhelming. 1/2 a large onion would have been much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Very good and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Unbelievably good. I've made a lot of bisques before but I've never had one turn out this incredible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel Pennington

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This is amazing!!! Nice and thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daphne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sblackwell621
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Delicious! I took a couple of the other tips. First, I waited to add the evaporated milk until the last hour so it didn't curdle. I also added a can of diced tomatoes in the beginning. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States