Cajun Corn and Bacon Maque Choux Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I thought it was relatively easy to make, and I got several favorable comments on it, so it must have been pretty good! I did read through the comments and modified the recipe accordingly (diced onions instead of sliced, canned corn instead of ears). Keep in mind when you are planning this that you have to allow enough time to cook the bacon; you don't need it until the very end, so you can do the bacon and the other parts of the maque choux at the same time if you like, but some people (especially with smaller stoves) may want to do the bacon first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Great for cookouts. Milk is not needed if fresh corn is used. I also used graped tomatoes as someone suggested. I did add some Cajun seasoning for extra flavor. I made 12 servings and didn't have any leftovers to take home. That's when you know it's good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YaYaJessi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
This recipe is outstanding! One of the best vegetable recipes I have tried, as well as the most unique. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Very good! Taste something like my grandma used to make for Sunday dinner. Great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Really good and I used all canned ingredients for fresh since corn is not in season :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Delicious! I only would use 1/2 a large onion next time. Was a little too much for me. I also used applewood bacon. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
So good. Made this when my sis-in-law came over and we all loved it. Easy and the perfect amount of spiciness. I served it with the Teriyaki Pork Tenderloin from this site and a cucumber salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WILLOWSCHNELL
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Really great recipe. Unfortunately, I had to use frozen corn as corn on the cob is out of season here. The bacon and tomato really made the dish and the cayenne put it over the top. Be VERY careful how much you add. Do it very slowly. A tiny tiny sprinkle goes a looong way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLOWSCHNELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Living In: New Sarepta, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Turned out great with no modifactions. If/when I make this again I'll dice the onions rather than slice them for the sake of consistency and to make it easier to eat. It went over really well at a covered dish luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Needs a little more spice....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonagold

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jackson, Alabama, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Salmon with Bacon and Corn Relish

A warm bacon and fresh corn relish make this salmon spectacular.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States