Cajun Corn and Bacon Maque Choux Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
OMGoddeness this is awesome!!!!!! My only change was I used fresh corn from the freezer that I had put up in the summer. GREAT, Excellent way to change up corn. Thanks! If you like all these ingredients, this is a must try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Made for Mardi Gras without bell peppers or green onions and I used canned corn. Even the non-veggie eater enjoyed the dish! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Mortvedt
Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving to accompany our Cajun Turducken. My guests loved it and the recipe has become a staple at home (minus the bacon because I consider it a treat). It is so easy to make and tastes so yummy. I too use canned corn soaked in milk. When I use bacon, I saute all of the veggies in the bacon grease instead of the vegetable oil for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BALDOR1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I recently have been more and more into Cajun Cuisine and this was something simple yet still delightfully traditional. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary
Home Town: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Great flavor! Especially warm/hot. I don't recommend eating it cold as you lose some of that flavor. Served it with a kilbasa. Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tristin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebago, Maine, USA
Living In: North Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Excellent! Just made a variation of this from a different recipe I found (pretty much the same... didn't have tomato and used red bell instead of green... and heavy cream in place of milk...). Excellent side dish to go with BBQs - loved the flavors! Can't go wrong with bacon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I tweaked the recipe in two places: (1) I used 1/2 cup of heavy cream instead of milk. (2) I added 1-1/2 lbs of raw shrimp during the last 10 minutes of cooking time, cooking only long enough for the shrimp to turn pink. The addition of the shrimp made the dish hearty enough to serve alone yet still be substantial enough for 4 men and a growing 10-year-old girl! Everybody had seconds! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Yes it's really that good. 5 stars. It's worth the extra effort of using fresh corn off the cob. I also went heavy handed with the cayenne, I like spicy! Used only a tablespoon or two of milk. Such a fresh tasting combination of flavors, wasn't sure I would like the fresh tomatoes in this, but wow they work very nicely with the other flavors. Sweet and savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This was noisy, the kids were digging into their ramekins to get every last bit. I used red peppers and canned corn. Can only be better with fresh. Perfect side with Johnsonville Hot N Spicy (Cajun) Brats topped with Sauerkraut Hot Dog Topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I thought it was the bomb! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Correia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Salmon with Bacon and Corn Relish

A warm bacon and fresh corn relish make this salmon spectacular.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States