Cajun Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
I actually LOST the recipe after I bought the supplies and before I made the soup, so I sort of guessed at what I was supposed to do when and totally wound up skipping the "blend" part. For the chicken broth, I used a ramen noodle seasoning packet (I'm trying to be more thrifty). I added a ton of hot pepper, and it wound up being too hot, so to balance and give a little more flavor, I added a little brown sugar. It was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Delicious even though I didn't do all the blending steps, since I lack a blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Even better than I expected. I did change a little though. I did not add the corn until the end because I did not want it chopped and I used 1/2 can beans in the blender and another 1/2 at the end so it would be whole. I topped it with a dollop of sour cream and fresh chopped cilantro and chives. My husband said his only complaint was I didn't give him enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
My Sweetheart has been going more and more vegetarian on me so I tried this recipe. I hate to make changes but it really was a tiny one. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. She loves the beans so this worked out perfectly. I like a little more meat or chicken or fish with my meals so I add in some sauteed shrimp to my bowl right before serving. Three little words: Won-der-ful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pundragon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This was easy and very good. I had to substitute vegetable broth instead of chicken due to diet restrictions, but this was delicious. I like a smooth broth so I put everything in the blender exept the corn and black beans. Picky eaters would never know there was onion, bell peppers and tomoates in the soup this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Pryor, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Added cilantro, chopped avocado, crushed tortilla chips and cheese to top it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
AWESOME SOUP! I made only a few changes. I substituted water and vegetable Better Than Boullion for the chicken stock to make it vegetarian and left out the garlic salt. I used fresh garlic and prefer low-salt foods. Also I added all the ingredients and cooked through before blending, so I only had to blend it once. Less messy. Seriously one of the best soups I've tried in awhile. I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I used water instead of the chicken broth, garlic powder instead of garlic salt, I omitted the oil, and I used an onion instead of a leek. This is great soup, colorful and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
this soup was just delicious. I made some changes I omitted the leeks and also added a can of navy beans to make it a thicker soup. I chopped up grilled andouille sausage and added a lil thickening of flour and water to make it thick. The soup was fantastic. I will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Very good soup but I think it needs more in the spice department. Better to use an excellent cajun spice blend for this recipe. I also didn't bother blending it at any point and I think it turned out just fine. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States