Cajun Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
this soup was just delicious. I made some changes I omitted the leeks and also added a can of navy beans to make it a thicker soup. I chopped up grilled andouille sausage and added a lil thickening of flour and water to make it thick. The soup was fantastic. I will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
Excellent flavour, and very quick to prepare. Next time, I think I'll reserve half of the black beans and add them to the soup whole, just to add a little more texture to the soup. My husband (a very obviously NON-vegetarian) thought there should have been meat in it, but I don't think it needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
My Sweetheart has been going more and more vegetarian on me so I tried this recipe. I hate to make changes but it really was a tiny one. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. She loves the beans so this worked out perfectly. I like a little more meat or chicken or fish with my meals so I add in some sauteed shrimp to my bowl right before serving. Three little words: Won-der-ful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pundragon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
I actually LOST the recipe after I bought the supplies and before I made the soup, so I sort of guessed at what I was supposed to do when and totally wound up skipping the "blend" part. For the chicken broth, I used a ramen noodle seasoning packet (I'm trying to be more thrifty). I added a ton of hot pepper, and it wound up being too hot, so to balance and give a little more flavor, I added a little brown sugar. It was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I had high hopes for this soup, but it just fell flat for me. I followed the recipe, but reversed the steps so I would only need to use 1 pot (sauteed onions/garlic first, the added the broth et al to boil, reserving 1/2 of the beans/corn/peppers until after I immersion blended the soup). It just had very little flavor, other than HOT (not too hot, just hot). I'm not sure what makes this "cajun", but I think I would have preferred it w/a cajun spice blend. THANKS for the recipe, JWHICKER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Even better than I expected. I did change a little though. I did not add the corn until the end because I did not want it chopped and I used 1/2 can beans in the blender and another 1/2 at the end so it would be whole. I topped it with a dollop of sour cream and fresh chopped cilantro and chives. My husband said his only complaint was I didn't give him enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Added cilantro, chopped avocado, crushed tortilla chips and cheese to top it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This was very easy to make and the ingredients are all things I have on hand regularly (except the leek which I left out.) With that said, I'm still very surprised at the GREAT reviews this soup has. It's thin and almost more broth than anything. We like a thick soup so this one is kind of boring. I only blended half of the black beans as one review suggested. I added noodles. It helped some but I don't think this will be added to my family's favorite soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I really wanted to like this. I thought it was just ok. I only did the second puree using my immersion blender. If I made it again, I would use more black beans and I would add the corn after the puree. The taste of "corn skins" is not pleasant. Also I preferred this with some cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Delicious even though I didn't do all the blending steps, since I lack a blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States