Cajun Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
this soup was just delicious. I made some changes I omitted the leeks and also added a can of navy beans to make it a thicker soup. I chopped up grilled andouille sausage and added a lil thickening of flour and water to make it thick. The soup was fantastic. I will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
Excellent flavour, and very quick to prepare. Next time, I think I'll reserve half of the black beans and add them to the soup whole, just to add a little more texture to the soup. My husband (a very obviously NON-vegetarian) thought there should have been meat in it, but I don't think it needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
My Sweetheart has been going more and more vegetarian on me so I tried this recipe. I hate to make changes but it really was a tiny one. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. She loves the beans so this worked out perfectly. I like a little more meat or chicken or fish with my meals so I add in some sauteed shrimp to my bowl right before serving. Three little words: Won-der-ful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pundragon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
I actually LOST the recipe after I bought the supplies and before I made the soup, so I sort of guessed at what I was supposed to do when and totally wound up skipping the "blend" part. For the chicken broth, I used a ramen noodle seasoning packet (I'm trying to be more thrifty). I added a ton of hot pepper, and it wound up being too hot, so to balance and give a little more flavor, I added a little brown sugar. It was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I had high hopes for this soup, but it just fell flat for me. I followed the recipe, but reversed the steps so I would only need to use 1 pot (sauteed onions/garlic first, the added the broth et al to boil, reserving 1/2 of the beans/corn/peppers until after I immersion blended the soup). It just had very little flavor, other than HOT (not too hot, just hot). I'm not sure what makes this "cajun", but I think I would have preferred it w/a cajun spice blend. THANKS for the recipe, JWHICKER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Even better than I expected. I did change a little though. I did not add the corn until the end because I did not want it chopped and I used 1/2 can beans in the blender and another 1/2 at the end so it would be whole. I topped it with a dollop of sour cream and fresh chopped cilantro and chives. My husband said his only complaint was I didn't give him enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Added cilantro, chopped avocado, crushed tortilla chips and cheese to top it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This was very easy to make and the ingredients are all things I have on hand regularly (except the leek which I left out.) With that said, I'm still very surprised at the GREAT reviews this soup has. It's thin and almost more broth than anything. We like a thick soup so this one is kind of boring. I only blended half of the black beans as one review suggested. I added noodles. It helped some but I don't think this will be added to my family's favorite soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I really wanted to like this. I thought it was just ok. I only did the second puree using my immersion blender. If I made it again, I would use more black beans and I would add the corn after the puree. The taste of "corn skins" is not pleasant. Also I preferred this with some cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Delicious even though I didn't do all the blending steps, since I lack a blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States