Cajun Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Very good soup but I think it needs more in the spice department. Better to use an excellent cajun spice blend for this recipe. I also didn't bother blending it at any point and I think it turned out just fine. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I used water instead of the chicken broth, garlic powder instead of garlic salt, I omitted the oil, and I used an onion instead of a leek. This is great soup, colorful and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I had high hopes for this soup, but it just fell flat for me. I followed the recipe, but reversed the steps so I would only need to use 1 pot (sauteed onions/garlic first, the added the broth et al to boil, reserving 1/2 of the beans/corn/peppers until after I immersion blended the soup). It just had very little flavor, other than HOT (not too hot, just hot). I'm not sure what makes this "cajun", but I think I would have preferred it w/a cajun spice blend. THANKS for the recipe, JWHICKER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I used this as a base for a "clean out the fridge/freezer" soup. I used onion instead of the leek added chicken, used a frozen blend of corn, black beans, and peppers, and left out the tomatoes. It seemed like it was missing something, so I added a teaspoon of creole seasoning. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
AWESOME SOUP! I made only a few changes. I substituted water and vegetable Better Than Boullion for the chicken stock to make it vegetarian and left out the garlic salt. I used fresh garlic and prefer low-salt foods. Also I added all the ingredients and cooked through before blending, so I only had to blend it once. Less messy. Seriously one of the best soups I've tried in awhile. I'll definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Added cilantro, chopped avocado, crushed tortilla chips and cheese to top it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This was easy and very good. I had to substitute vegetable broth instead of chicken due to diet restrictions, but this was delicious. I like a smooth broth so I put everything in the blender exept the corn and black beans. Picky eaters would never know there was onion, bell peppers and tomoates in the soup this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Pryor, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This was very easy to make and the ingredients are all things I have on hand regularly (except the leek which I left out.) With that said, I'm still very surprised at the GREAT reviews this soup has. It's thin and almost more broth than anything. We like a thick soup so this one is kind of boring. I only blended half of the black beans as one review suggested. I added noodles. It helped some but I don't think this will be added to my family's favorite soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
My Sweetheart has been going more and more vegetarian on me so I tried this recipe. I hate to make changes but it really was a tiny one. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. She loves the beans so this worked out perfectly. I like a little more meat or chicken or fish with my meals so I add in some sauteed shrimp to my bowl right before serving. Three little words: Won-der-ful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pundragon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Even better than I expected. I did change a little though. I did not add the corn until the end because I did not want it chopped and I used 1/2 can beans in the blender and another 1/2 at the end so it would be whole. I topped it with a dollop of sour cream and fresh chopped cilantro and chives. My husband said his only complaint was I didn't give him enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States