Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I juiced this up just a bit, I used some pork that I smoked on my smoker in place of chicken, I also used turkey drippings, from turkeys I smoked at thanksgiving, in place of chicken broth. Also added Okra, and a teaspoon of file powder. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Turned out great! I Used a lb. chicken and took it out and shredded it with a fork after an hour instead of the rotisserie chicken. Only complaint is it was a little salty. Next time I think I'll use unsalted chicken broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana O'Connell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Wow...Everyone loved this....Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mg5555

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Ridge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Made your recipe numerous times, its a hit in my family ??????????????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Awesome recipe. I made it exactly as written, though it took about 17 minutes (constantly whisking) to get the roux where it needed to be. Everyone raved about it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Made this on Saturday with leftover Turkey. AWESOME! I did go for the darker roux just an additional 10 mins or so. I used a cup of butter in lieu of the oil for the roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rhino
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
My wife said this is the best dish I've ever made! I used the directions exactly, except I doubled the sausage. It's amazing! Saving this for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Next time I will definitely use only half the fat and flour; the broth was much too thick for my taste. I used butter instead of vegetable oil. Also, it seemed like it needed more vegetables, so I chopped three carrots and added them. Okra would have been good, too, if I had it on hand. The sausage was so spicy (Aidell's brand), that a tablespoon of Tony Chachere's was plenty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Whitman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Yum! To die for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and it was great! My husband who is from Baton Rouge approved!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Rib-Sticking Casseroles
Rib-Sticking Casseroles

They'll love a nice casserole tonight. Choose from over 1,200 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States