Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
The best Gumbo I have ever had was in - Germany. Stationed there, my room mate was from LA and his Cajun wife visited. That Gumbo she made was life altering. A few years later, I visited New Orleans and was utterly disappointed in the Gumbo there. In the 25 years since, I haven't had any good Gumbo. Until now. I am a total noob when it comes to cooking stuff like this and didn't even know what roux was, much less how to make it. YoYo's instructions were right on the money. After reading comments here, I followed the recipe closely. I used 3/4 cup canola oil and whole wheat flower for the roux. Instead of cutting the onions and bell peppers myself, I used a bag of frozen ones from Trader Joes. Otherwise, it was pretty much as Yoyo specified. When she says use low sodium broth, she means it. I used regular broth the first time and it came out way to salty. Pick a brand with less than 200mg sodium per cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I tweeked a few things, but this tasted like home. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HelenaFrazier
Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
One of the best recipes I've found on here. I've already cooked it a few times and every time it's turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
We LOVE this gumbo...made a couple additions, ceyene pepper,red pepper flakes,,and I took the roux idea from another recipe on sight...using the bacon grease and flour idea,,,,never commented befor, love the website and the magazine is my favorite,,,Thanks sooo much for this rich and smooth broth ,,,I love this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by blessed1
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Made this delicious dish for a family birthday dinner a party of 11 people. I doubled the recipe and had leftovers. Delightfully filling! I made mine Gluten-Free by using potato starch instead of flour for the roux. One thing is: it doesn't thicken or brown on the stove but will thicken gumbo in the CrockPot. I didn't care for the andouille sausage much, I will try a different one next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I've been using this recipe for a few years now - LOVE that it has NO tomatoes! I only add 4 Cu chicken broth b/c I like my gumbo a bit thicker and I add raw chicken with chicken broth, bring to boil and simmer for a few hours, add cooked shrimp and 1/2 bag frozen okra about 30 min from end - serve over white rice = DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Was really good!! I added rice, fresh okra, and a little water to the existing ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
AMAZING...made it just like it said, only I used a TB of Tony's Creole seasoning, a teaspoon of Cajun seasoning, pinch of tyme smoked Paprika and the last ten minutes added shrimp. YUM my first time making Gumbo and the whole pot is almost gone, nobody can get enough of it...SO GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This recipe was so yummy. I just sigh it was more clear with the spice quantity .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States