Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Hi everyone, I am the author of this recipe and from reading the reviews I thought I would add...the roux color is really dependent on how you would like it. I used milk chocolate as a reference as that's our family preference. If you would like it darker then you would just keep a stirrin until it's a color you would desire-it also intensifies the flavor. Also, if you do not like it thick then reduce the flour/oil ratio to maybe 1/2 c. flour to 1/2 c. oil. Thanks to everyone for trying the gumbo!! Jodi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
326 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YOYO78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Really delicious. I only used half the roux because I like my gumbo thicker. I needed about 3 pounds of meat (chicken and sausage)to make this a stew-type gumbo. I also added 1/2 lb of frozen okra during the last 30 min. I only cooked mine for about an hour, but sauteed the veggies and chicken for 15 min before adding to the roux. A few tips for those new at making a roux: careful when you add the vegetables to the roux, the roux will splatter like hot oil. at medium heat this took 30 min. to turn the color of chocolate milk. I would recommend medium high heat, but watch the roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
258 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Great "authentic" gumbo - I've lived on the bayou all my life and I just cringe when I read a recipe for gumbo that includes tomatoes - a true gumbo does not have tomatoes!!! This is very close to the gumbo I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie_James

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raceland, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This is the BEST gumbo! I've been making this for over 20 years from my mom's recipe that she got from a cajun neighbor when she lived in Lafayette LA in the early 60's. And this recipe is almost exactly like the one I make. The changes I made was I did not add bellpepper (personal preference) and I added 2 cans of okra (drained) and added 1 tbs of file (optional). Plus I boiled a chicken and deboned. I darkened my roux more like chocolate pudding. Otherwise, I was tickled to see this recipe posted. It truly is "THE BEST EVER GUMBO! Once in a while, I'll add some canned drained oysters too. Thanks YoYo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I don't really measure my green peppers, onions, or celery when I make gumbo anymore, unless it is a really fancy recipe. I just eye it. For this recipe, I used 1 medium/large green bell pepper, 1 medium onion, and 3 celery stalks and chopped them up. I also used 1 pound of browned smoked turkey sausage, 1 pound of diced, cooked chicken breast, 1/2 pound of large shrimp, 1 can of clams, and 1 can of crabs. The only problem I had with this recipe is that it said "Creole seasoning to taste." A little vague, don't ya think? So, for my seasoning, I used 1/2 t. dried basil, 1/2 t. dried thyme, 1/2 t. dried oregano, 1 t. of ground black pepper, 1 t. of cayenne pepper, 3/4 to 1 t. of salt, 1 t. of paprika, some file powder (add according to your taste) and 1 t. of pepper sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
This is the real deal. Gumbo is my favorite thing to cook and eat. The only differences I make is I add 3 celery stocks because I like celery a couple jalapeno peppers for heat, two tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce "preferably Lea and Perrins" and a bottle of dark beer like a stout or porter. Also I prefer to make my own chicken stock then shread the chicken for the gumbo or you can just use a large package of whole skinless bone in chicken thighs which works best. Theres a great youtube video of Justin Wilson on making gumbo. Check it out if you can. And remember to constantly stir your roux, when you think it's going to burn cook it for 15 minutes longer just make sure to keep on stirring and you'll be alright, it should look like dark chocolate with a redish tint to the head A wood spoon works best wisks can't get the edges right. Serve with tobasco, and white rice cooked in chicken stock and you'll be in heaven. Ok now im definatly making this tomorrow. Ymmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I've only eaten gumbo once in New Orleans, and this was so much better than I remember. I used corn oil and cooked the roux until closer to the color of milk chocolate rather than chocolate milk as recommended in other Gumbo recipes on this site. Used mild Italian sausage and 1 lb boneless chicken breast. Used 2 Tbsp Cajun Seasoning I brought back from New Orleans which might make it a little spicy for kids. Chopped 1/3 red, 1/3 yellow, and 1/3 green peppers. Will remember next time to have all ingredients cooked, chopped and ready before starting my roux. I added the chicken the same time I added the other ingredients and only simmered uncovered for 1 hour, stirring often. Gumbo was even better the next day. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I've made this twice in the last 6 weeks, the second time by request. I haven't even tasted it because it's gone so fast. I was asked to make again but I just passed on the recipe. I made it a day ahead, added shrimp when I rewarmed it. Roasted the bones from the chicken and the chells from the shrimp and added to chicken broth to make stock - I here it was the best gumbo ever! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYSMAMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This recipe was fabulous! This was my first attempt at Gumbo and my husband LOVED it! I followed the recipe EXACTLY. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacksMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Topnotch recipe. I messed up the roux on the first go but got it right the 2nd time. My market had no andouille sausage so I used 1 lb of Hillshire Farms Hot Kielbasa. I added a handful of chopped parsley after the first half-hour of the roux simmering and then a 1/2 pound of shrimp, another handful of chopped parsley, and 1 lb of frozen, but thawed fist, cut okra during the last 5 minutes of cooking. You get this roux down and you are set for life. The writer didn't mention quantities for salt, pepper, or Cajun seasoning so we added them somewhat sparingly and it was enough, the sausage itself provides lots of seasoning/flavor. Wonderful stuff. We made this for 4 people last night who all enjoyed it immensley and we're having it again for dinner (2)and expect there still be some leftovers so it's not that expensive in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States