Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
My wife and I love this and we are already planning to make it again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gridley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Born and raised in New Iberia,LA....a TRUE Cajun,and let me tell you,this is how I've always made gumbo.always a crowd pleaser.we like our roux VERY dark,so be patient,don't touch the heat,and keep stirring your roux.good things come to those who wait:) we also use raw chicken,thrown into the pot once stock is at a rice rolling boil.the longer you cook,the better it gets:) thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Outstanding just as the recipe is written! We love this recipe and I feel so accomplished with my successful rouxs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Perfect! Made it just like you said to. Good pictorial of chocolate milk color as this was my first ever roux. Thank you for generously sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
This was great. I used the recipe for creole seasoning from someone who had made a comment. The recipe for creole seasoning was 1/2 t basil, 1/2 t thyme, 1/2 t oregano, 1 t black pepper, 1 t salt, 1 t paprika, 1 t pepper sauce(I used tobasco). I did only use 1/2 a cup of oil(olive oil) and 1/2 a cup of flour for the roux. Then I topped each service with a round 1/2 cup of rice. I frequent New Orleans and this tasted like something you would get in a restaurant there. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Never made gumbo before but this is delicious. It was a last minute thing and we didn't have the bell pepper or the celery but it still was very tasty and so easy to make. I skimmed about 6oz of grease from the top while it was simmering but if I had left it in it would still have been delicious! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
While liking the ingredients for this soup, we wanted to cut some calories from the high amount of fat associated with making the roux. We also noted some reviewers felt the soup was too oily for their tastes. We decided to go w/ 1/3 cup safflower oil & 1/3 cup ap flour, saving about 1,575 calories from the dish or 158 calories per serving. The good instructions made the roux easy to make. Aidell’s Spicy Mango with Jalapeno Sausage was used. Otherwise, we followed the recipe. While our soup wasn’t as thick given less roux, it was packed with superb flavor and made a super delicious soup. We’ll be making this again!! Jodi, thanks a bunch for a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Went to New Orleans and came back with a new found love for gumbo and this recipe really rings true to the gumbo I have tasted. will try to get my roux darker next time but a great recipe either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This turned out kind of slimy (even though I cooked the okra a long time - it never got unslimy) and had a odd texture. It also didn't have a great flavor - it was just alright. I won't make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Tried this recipe today and this definitely hit the spot. I added jumbo shrimp in at the final 6 minutes and it was great.... Had to add more Cajun/old bay/cayenne along with the creole seasonings to kick this up a notch but the base is very well balanced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bomber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Uniontown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States