Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by westcoastmom
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I made this as written a few weeks ago and we really enjoyed this. We are from the Northwest, and have never had authentic Gumbo, so I have no reference to go by! But this did remind me of something my Mom made called chicken a la king. So, I decided to make this with leftover Christmas turkey and leftover ham instead of sausage. I also added the leftover gravy and added water to the gravy to make up for the 6 cups of broth (and made half the roux). We served it over rice and it tasted great! I would recommend everyone with leftover turkey dinner to make this, great as written too! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Really good gumbo. Read the reviews and went with only a 1/4 cup oil and 1/4 cup flour for the roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
My first time making gumbo and it came out really good, Thanks for the directions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
My wife and I love this and we are already planning to make it again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gridley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Born and raised in New Iberia,LA....a TRUE Cajun,and let me tell you,this is how I've always made gumbo.always a crowd pleaser.we like our roux VERY dark,so be patient,don't touch the heat,and keep stirring your roux.good things come to those who wait:) we also use raw chicken,thrown into the pot once stock is at a rice rolling boil.the longer you cook,the better it gets:) thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Outstanding just as the recipe is written! We love this recipe and I feel so accomplished with my successful rouxs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Perfect! Made it just like you said to. Good pictorial of chocolate milk color as this was my first ever roux. Thank you for generously sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
This was great. I used the recipe for creole seasoning from someone who had made a comment. The recipe for creole seasoning was 1/2 t basil, 1/2 t thyme, 1/2 t oregano, 1 t black pepper, 1 t salt, 1 t paprika, 1 t pepper sauce(I used tobasco). I did only use 1/2 a cup of oil(olive oil) and 1/2 a cup of flour for the roux. Then I topped each service with a round 1/2 cup of rice. I frequent New Orleans and this tasted like something you would get in a restaurant there. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Never made gumbo before but this is delicious. It was a last minute thing and we didn't have the bell pepper or the celery but it still was very tasty and so easy to make. I skimmed about 6oz of grease from the top while it was simmering but if I had left it in it would still have been delicious! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
While liking the ingredients for this soup, we wanted to cut some calories from the high amount of fat associated with making the roux. We also noted some reviewers felt the soup was too oily for their tastes. We decided to go w/ 1/3 cup safflower oil & 1/3 cup ap flour, saving about 1,575 calories from the dish or 158 calories per serving. The good instructions made the roux easy to make. Aidell’s Spicy Mango with Jalapeno Sausage was used. Otherwise, we followed the recipe. While our soup wasn’t as thick given less roux, it was packed with superb flavor and made a super delicious soup. We’ll be making this again!! Jodi, thanks a bunch for a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe

Displaying results 21-30 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States