Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by WickedBadNaughty
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Yes, please and thank you for the A-M-A-Z-I-N-G recipe!! I had never made gumbo before but I have made it twice now (to my family's resounding glee, lip smacking and empty plates) and I will DEFINITELY be making this recipe again AND AGAIN!! I will say that this is definitely something you have to stay on top of, don't look away from it, answer the phone or take a second to let the dog out (making roux is fast, furious, serious business) just keep it moving so as not to burn it. This will taste even better on day two and reheats well. It will make your tongue slap your brains out for sure! =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Very delicious. Quite easy, the only hard part was waiting while the roux was browning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KBark
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
After reading many of the reviews, I decided to cut the oil to 1/2 cup and the flour to 1/2 cup. It took about 25 minutes for me to get the roux to the darkness I liked. Since there was no amount listed for the spices we had to guess and ended up adding more of the Chatcheries Creole seasoning. (about 1TBS total) Not too much salt and pepper as the creole seasoning is salty. I added a few dashes of Louisiana hot sauce and threw in some shrimp about 10 minutes before the end. Yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This is an awesome gumbo recipe, you can't get any better for a weeknight! I followed the recipe pretty much to a T, and it turned out wonderfully. The flavor was awesome, and it was nice and thick (I was afraid it would be too thin). My husband liked it so much, he forgot to eat it with rice and just slurped it like soup! The only thing I would do differently next time is cook the roux longer. I was very careful to stir it constantly because I didn't want it to burn and be bitter...cooked it about 10 minutes total. But it never achieved that rich, velvety brown color that I look for in a gumbo (although it tasted fantastic...mine was the color of a good chicken stew...kinda dark golden brown). Next time, I'll cook the roux longer and add shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 1koolsugaplum
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Awesome recipe. I tweaked a little by adding some red pepper flakes and cayenne for some heat. Also quickly grilled the smoked sausage for caramelization before adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This is a great gumbo recipe. But like another review said, I would halve the roux. I used 2 lbs. shreaded chicken and 1-1/2 lbs. of sausage. Could have used a little more. Good job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
MMM...MMM...GOOD! I only used half a large yellow onion and did not simmer for more than a 45 minutes total. Thick enough with 1 cup of flour. I served it over farro instead of white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
My son and I made this today and LOVED it! We will definitely be keeping this one for future reference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
this is a wonderful recipe! I was born and raised in new orleans, this taste like the restaurant that doesnt use dark roux!!!! and the only thing I did differently was adding okra to the gumbo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I have wanted to make chicken & sausage gumbo for awhile. I have had the Campbell's gumbo, but I love to cook & it was time to take that step! I found this recipe last winter! The first time I scratched it, but I was able to doctor it up & it was good! So by the second time around, I knew just what I needed to do! I love veggies, so I added some okra, tomatoes, & a couple other veggies! I decided to step outside da box on the traditional new year's dinner & make chicken gumbo for my family! This recipe is saved in my bookmarks. I will continue to use it & even pass it on to friends & family! Happy New Year To You & Your Family! May God Bless U!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States