Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I followed the recipe to a "t", but it didn't turn out just right. Not like a gumbo. Had great flavor, just a strange texture. Very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Followed the recipe, had great results, I did add okra as suggested. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cameron, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I have missed good food after moving to Canada form Cajun Country- this recipe was right on and all of our northern friends enjoyed it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Shawnigan Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Photo by starving collegian
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This recipe is absolutely spectacular. It was my first time making chicken gumbo, and I was completely blown away by how easy and simple it was. I made some polenta fries (similar to toasted polenta) to accompany the gumbo, and it tasted FABULOUS. This recipe is a keeper! Try it, and you will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I've never made gumbo before and tried this for dinner tonight! It is magically delicious- my ten and thirteen year olds loved it! I thought I'd be hoity toity and use olive oil- because I'm a novice I found out NOT to do this. It doesn't *work* the same way as crisco. Crisco was the deal though and I ended up looking like a freaking genius! I did add a pound of fresh shrimp there at the end. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Delicious! Being from New Orleans, I can say that this is the real deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Hi, Jodi! I live in San Francisco, where cioppino and sourdough bread reign as the classic regional dishes. We don't often get to enjoy gumbo here, but I've been treated to it a couple of times by friends and coworkers who hail from bayou country. When I told them I was making a classic Cajun gumbo, they were skeptical. I followed your recipe precisely, using pork andouille from Whole Foods, a Costco rotisserie chicken, Trader Joe's free-range chicken stock and Creole seasoning I bought at a good market. Making the roux was a snap. I recommend prepping all the ingredients before first, then pouring a glass of wine or beer and stirring the roux constantly until it's ready. A couple of notes from my first gumbo: the andouille I used fell completely apart and in the end looked as though I'd used hamburger. Next time, I'll brown them separately and add the sausage with the chicken stock. I also skimmed nearly a cup of fat off the top toward the end of the cooking time. My finished gumbo looked beautiful and tasted even better, and it's actually very easy. Next time I won't fuss over it during the two hours it's simmering. Thanks again, Jodi, for sharing this wonderful regional recipe. "Gumbo? Oh, yeah. I make a killer chicken and sausage gumbo."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
My husband thought that it was really good. I didn't add the celery, not a big fan of it. I added olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Also, added shrimp to it:) I thought it was super easy to make. Made my house smell amazing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
The whole family LOVED this Gumbo! Including my 8 yr old who is pretty picky. I did cut the oil & flour down to 1/2c of each and bolied covered to keep a more of a soup-like consistency. Fantastic flavor and simple recipe! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Delicious!!!!! Made this today and it came out perfect. Hubby loved it too. At the end, I did add some hot sauce to jazz it up a little. Thanks for the recipe. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States