Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
The first time I made this I was too impatient and didn't brown the roux long enough. The second time I took the time and made sure it was browner. I'd definitely take the time to let it brown. Also, I am from Maryland so I added 1 lb of shrimp with Old Bay seasoning sprinkled on it. not authentic gumbo, but we like it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kait

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
this one is going into my repertoire! definitely add the okra. I used a 3 lb chicken and it was a bit too much..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hope's Mom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
The roux was not difficult to make as long as you take your time, keep it on lower heat and stir constantly. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Jodi, thank you so much - made it for a dinner party and everyone RAVED!! Truly a spectacular meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BMWCHK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
OH MY!!! I am currently working in Iraq and I had the incrediants sent over to me. I only had one shot of getting this right....it was perfect. I followed to a T with the exception I added a little extra cajun seasoning just cause we like it a little extra spicey. Served over white rice with a glass of ice tea....can't go wrong!!! Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I followed the recipe to a "t", but it didn't turn out just right. Not like a gumbo. Had great flavor, just a strange texture. Very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Followed the recipe, had great results, I did add okra as suggested. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cameron, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I have missed good food after moving to Canada form Cajun Country- this recipe was right on and all of our northern friends enjoyed it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Shawnigan Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Photo by starving collegian
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This recipe is absolutely spectacular. It was my first time making chicken gumbo, and I was completely blown away by how easy and simple it was. I made some polenta fries (similar to toasted polenta) to accompany the gumbo, and it tasted FABULOUS. This recipe is a keeper! Try it, and you will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I've never made gumbo before and tried this for dinner tonight! It is magically delicious- my ten and thirteen year olds loved it! I thought I'd be hoity toity and use olive oil- because I'm a novice I found out NOT to do this. It doesn't *work* the same way as crisco. Crisco was the deal though and I ended up looking like a freaking genius! I did add a pound of fresh shrimp there at the end. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States