Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This is the real deal darlin! But I don't make my own roux anymore. Makes your house smell for days & it's easier to buy. Look for Tony Chachere's products at your grocery store... you'll save yourself a ton of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by finding_rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Opelousas, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
great - the key is the roux. nice and dark is great flavor. If you drink one beer while stirring roux it should be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I love this recipe but the last time I made it, I made my roux in the oven with NO oil. Being on Weight Watchers, this reduced the points considerably and you really couldn't tell the difference! I also used two 32-oz containers of chicken broth - it was great! It's a recipe I'll continue to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Turns out 8-10 minutes doesn't get me that chocolate brown roux. Ended up with blonde roux. No biggie, used it along with some extra ingredients and was extremely pleased with the result. I imagine it will be even better next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunchwacky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
OMG'sh this was soo good. I added crushed tomatoes and cooked my own chicken with palmful of the creole seasoning and added okra. It turned out great!! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
THis was an excellent recipe. I've always wanted to try making a gumbo but didn't find one with just the right ingredients until this one. The family loved it. I thnk the andouille sausage really makes the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SBATES26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Thank you for this great recipe; the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
good basic recipe - the roux - takes about 30 minutes & do not burn!!!! also a hint - i use evoo in my roux and let it cool to room temp about an hour - then pour the excess oil off the top & spatul the roux in your broth. Do not add anything to a hot roux!!!!! i also add - tyme - garlic - cayenne pepper & basil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trial & error
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This was GREAT! I made it exactly as is except for adding a few jalapeños. It took me longer than 10min to get the roux to chocolate milk color but I probably had my temp a little lower just because I was paranoid about burning. I kept a constant stir going and it turned out perfect. Use a LONG wooden spoon or whisk. Some of the roux splashed up on my hand for just a split second and I have some pretty cool battle scars to show for it today. :) I'm sure most of you are more careful than me though. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This gumbo was surprisingly easy to make. My roux came out perfect the first time, I was patient with the stirring process! I did not put any sausage in the gumbo and it still came out great. I did however added a bag of frozen okra to the simmering pot and poured it over rice once it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sumalee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States