Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This is Tiny's co-worker, Tiny was going to make this but took too long. These were my exact words I text'd to Tiny after making this..."Holy F***! This is good!" The only thing I would add is cayanne pepper and more seasoning. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinytink36

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This is more like cream of gumbo...not for us. I have never made it before, so I just went with it as a rookie, but this is not southern LA gumbo. Too thick and oily. Recommend you keep searching recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Very tasty. I added italian sausage at hand and crab meat bought from trader Joe. I wrote the review when waiting. It already smelt great. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Solid gumbo - good, but not great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This was sooo good! first time making gumbo and i will def make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jay Jay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I make this at least once a month. It's an excellent recipe and has genuine cultural flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieHomemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This recipe was fabulous! This was my first attempt at Gumbo and my husband LOVED it! I followed the recipe EXACTLY. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacksMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
will be making this today but i do have questions. as i will be making changes i don't know what file is. can you help me on this. i am going to watch all the videos for roux whick i've never made either as it may help someone that doesn't cook much. i am more of a crockpot guy--ha ha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I don't know where I went wrong but the 1 cup of oil just ruined this dish for me. It had a very oily feeling in my mouth that I did not care for. I used Canola oil and had no problem achieving the chocolate color that other reviewers said was a must after 25 minutes of cooking the roux. I followed the recipe exactly and it smelled delicious but I just could not stomach the oily feel and taste in my mouth when I ate it. Tried serving the leftovers with rice but that didn't help it. I will try using a recipe with less oil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coshocton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This is an awesome recipe!! I have used it many times since I discovered it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States