Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Very straightforward gumbo recipe made even easier by using already prepared or leftover chicken. The roux, of course, takes time and patience... and a whole lotta stirring. Keep in mind -- the darker the roux, the soupier the gumbo. Great lazy-Sunday-afternoon meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Excellent! We have an authentic Cajun restaurant nearby that serves up some awesome gumbo and my husband thinks this recipe rivals it. Thanks SO much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was my first time making gumbo and it turned out great! I followed the recipe exactly (I thought) until my roux didn't come out, but I got it right the second time - just needed higher heat! Originally I just threw some chicken in the slow cooker but realized I had all the ingredients for this recipe (I used Tony Chachere's spice) SO happy I tried it, will be a regular dish now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kreativess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This is so delicious!!! By the time I was ready to add my stock my roux looked like dark chocolate. I was worried I had taken it too far, but all it did was make this gumbo super rich and flavorful. I only had a red bell pepper so I used that and I couldn't pass up on adding some okra either! I used chicken breast that I chopped up and quickly pan fried. I used homemade chicken stock and threw in a little cayenne for some heat. Served over rice and we both ate two huge bowls! Very yummy, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Fan-freaking-tastic!!!!!! Served it up with some rice & slivers of buttered french bed, oh so good!!! Oh, and added some okra & file of course ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This gumbo is delicious!! This was my first time making gumbo and my husband loved it!! I will definitely be making this again and again...thanks for the recipie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dinwiddie, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was my first time making gumbo or a roux of any type - very easy to follow directions and it turned out excellent - fed a whole group at a Mardi Gras gathering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Hubby loved this, I liked the taste but didn't particularly care for the texture. I'll make this again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This was such a fantstic dinner. I absolutely recommend this recipe. And it's great because you can add other veggies (such as Okra) to it because it's versatile. We didn't do anything different than the recipe called for and would make this again and again, no question!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This is Tiny's co-worker, Tiny was going to make this but took too long. These were my exact words I text'd to Tiny after making this..."Holy F***! This is good!" The only thing I would add is cayanne pepper and more seasoning. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinytink36

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States