Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I'm not a great cook, but I followed this recipe very close, making sure not to burn the roux. I made this Gumbo three times, and to my delight everyone who eaten it loved it and wanted the recipe. I love orka, so I added orka, but thats the only thing I did to different from the orginial recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
It was really good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
i have to say that after moving from Houston i missed cajun food, this gumbo was absolutely delicious !! i did add Okra towards the last 45 minutes of it but the flavor was fantastic !! a definite keeper !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
OK... next time we will use only half the roux as originally called for. I scorched the first batch so my husband (from southern LA) made the second batch for me. We added a lb of okra towards the end. I was afraid of how much NuNu's to put in so used very sparingly... next time we will at LEAST double the 1/2t. we did use. We didn't use chicken broth just water. Also I was instructed (by hubby) to leave out the bay leaf therefore we just tossed in the already cooked chicken and simmered for the one hour. after the hour we had to add another 1 1/2 cup water.. it turned into something resembling gravy and after the water still a little too thick. But did smell delicious! I can't wait to make this again!!! Even my picky runts ate it up so definitely worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kyttenalyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gabi Dotson
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I have to agree that cutting down on the amount of oil used to make the rue would help with the oily film that showed up after simmering for the first hour. In addition to the bell peppers and onion that that recipe called for I added frozen okra, cut carrots and used smoked Kelbasa since that's what I had available. In addition to the Cajun seasoning I also added Cayanne Pepper which gave the Gumbo a nice heat factor. Overall a great recipe and my family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabi Dotson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This was so simple to make, and really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Excellent, I added okra and shrimp the last 5 minutes, husband thought it was great! It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I am a true cajun and just have to throw in some good pointers. File' should be put on the table along w/ the salt, pepper, & butter (butter? read on) so each person can add it as they like it. File' is used as an "thickening agent" as well as a spice so if your gumbo is not thick enough for one then they can add file' to thicken it. Also, gumbo should be served w/ rice but it is a MUST that gumbo be served w/ a baked sweet potatoe as well. Serve the sweet potatoe on a saucer (with butter ;)) on it and each bite of gumbo should have a little piece of sweet potatoe in it. I just throw the potatoe in my gumbo when eating. I also like to add eggs in my chicken and sausage gumbo. While the gumbo is boiling just crack the raw eggs and drop in the gumbo or you can boil them first, peel and drop in. Also, chicken & sausage gumbo should not have seafood in it; if you want seafood in it then you should make a seafood gumbo. Cant beat true cajun food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I love this recipe, but hate all the stirring, so I went out and spent $9.99 on a Robo Stir just so I could make this recipe more often! (I use it for the first 8-10 min. of stirring).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERPET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Not traditional as it lacks okra but definitely delicious. We sometimes add shrimp along with the chicken and Andouille sausage. Great over rice or by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liebler Family

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Easton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States