Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This was my first experience with Gumbo, and we were very satisfied. I followed the recipe exactly, but found that the gumbo turned out very very thick. I had to double the chicken broth to give it a stewy texture. I added leftover rice to it and stored it in the fridge, but when reheating I found that It was way to thick again. I added even more broth to it to thin it out again. Aside from that, the flavor was very good, and we will be eating it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Made this tonight; KEEPER!! I searched for a cajun/jambalaya/gumbo recipe without tomatoes; this was a little greasy, but tasty. Five stars, but use plain rice, because rice from a mix will be too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Yummy, but gives me a stomach ache. Use polish sausage instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERPET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I tried this last night and it was a success! I wish I had cooked the roux longer. I was afraid that I might burn it, but the "chocolate milk" color was not long enough. I added some okra, which is a must for gumbo as far as I am concerned. I also threw in some shrimp at the end. A good authentic gumbo recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Whomever said they are from La, let alone SLa and love this because it is authentic are crazy. I looks nothing like gumbo, waaaay too thick. This came out more like jambalya.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I have been making this recipe for a long time and it is a huge hit at our house. My kids cheer when I say we're having gumbo for dinner! I make the recipe exactly as is except to add okra sometimes. It took a few times to really get the roux like we like it just because I was afraid to burn it. We serve it over rice and usually make a corn bread to go with it...Cajun/Texas style! Thank you for this wonderful recipe!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
It was good but not great. I would make it again since it wasn't too expensive but it's not something I would make regularly. Maybe next time I will make this in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
i TRIED THIS RECIPE THIS PAST SUNDAY AND HAD FAM & FRIENDS OVER AND IT WAS A SUCCESS. THE GUMBO TURNED OUT AWESOME.. GREAT RECIPE AND THANKS FOR POSTIING IT..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Great flavor! Probably the easiest gumbo recipe I've ever made, too! This was a great addition to the tailgating menu when we played The Saints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monticello, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Ditto on the comments that the roux will need to cook longer (especially for a chicken/sausage gumbo). I have cooked and stirred for over 50 minutes to get a rich dark chocolate reddish roux. It is worth the time. Also, when making a roux you might try 3/4 cup oil to 1 cup flour. The key is to use equal weights of fat a flour. Use a good vegetable oil, no olive oil or butter and the roux will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poemania

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Safety Harbor, Florida, USA
Living In: Longview, Texas, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States