Cajun Chicken and Sausage Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I make it all the time and freeze some for another day. It's my go-to meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Made the roux according to directions, added ingredients we like..okra, and shrimp. This is a WONDERFUL RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
If you are looking for a good Gumbo recipe, stop now. This is it. Can you make changes...of course. Additions rather than subtractions as the basic requirements are covered in the recipe. Feel like a handful of shrimp or other seafood? Go for it! More garlic? Yes sir:-) I am making it again right now...don't have a whole chicken but do have 3 chicken breasts...in there. And a large handful of shrimp for sure. Hot white rice on the side is a good thing. Really an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Cook the roux longer than suggested. I kept cooking the roux even after it was brown. Reduced it a bit, and really cooked out the trinity (onions peppers celery). My wife will not eat anything with onions, pepper nor celery, and she loved this gumbo. Reminded us of our visit to Lafeyette LA many years ago. I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott Hash
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
This is wonderful... My family loved it. I cut the oil in half for the roux...used Tony's for the seasoning. Simmered cubed chicken breast in a little water in a frying pan then threw it in the gumbo about 45 min before it was done. Use long grain rice cooked in chicken broth. I quadrupled this recipe in a stock pot. It's even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Hash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Pretty Awesome! Just finished eating 2 bowls and the family loved it! Read most of the ratings and tried a few ideas with success. Plus being from N.O. I knew right off the bat what extras I needed. Fried the sausage prior, added 1 tbs of seasoning, 1/4 tsp red pepper, 1/4 tsp thyme, 30min before done added okra, 5min before done added shrimp. Instructions were dead-on and easy to follow. You rock YOYO78! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I juiced this up just a bit, I used some pork that I smoked on my smoker in place of chicken, I also used turkey drippings, from turkeys I smoked at thanksgiving, in place of chicken broth. Also added Okra, and a teaspoon of file powder. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Turned out great! I Used a lb. chicken and took it out and shredded it with a fork after an hour instead of the rotisserie chicken. Only complaint is it was a little salty. Next time I think I'll use unsalted chicken broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana O'Connell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Wow...Everyone loved this....Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mg5555

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Ridge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Made your recipe numerous times, its a hit in my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States