Cajun Chicken Ragu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
But with tweaks...I cooked 3 chicken breasts in the crockpot with one can of chicken broth until done. Shredded the chicken, and then added the veggies and one package of Jennie-O Turkey Smoked Sausage and another can of chicken broth. Thickened it up with a bit of heated olive oil and flour to make a roux and one can of tomato paste to give it flavor. The finishing touch was cajun spice and it was served over rice. I will definitely make this again. Healthy (we left out the bacon) and great for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I loved the spice in this Cajun Chicken Ragu however, I felt it needed some flavor on the front end, not sure what though. I just heated up the leftovers for lunch and it was almost better the 2nd time around. Definitely a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I do love ChefJohn's recipes. That said I made one change. I didn't have any cooked chicken so I roasted a couple leg quarters seasoned with some homemade creole seasoning. Once it was cool, I stripped the bones and made a quick chicken stock with them and the skin. I think that gave it a more complex flavor. Ya, it took some extra time, but I think it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
This was really good but like another reviewer mentioned it seemed that it needed something. I added a little extra spice, oregano, and about 2 tablespoons of tomato paste. Just seemed as if it needed some acid. I loved those changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2015
I loved this recipe. I made it as is, except I didn't have any bacon so I just omitted it. I can't rave about this enough. This will be a new favorite recipe in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amys6
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
My husband devoured this. I made it for him as it is really not my thing. It was definitely tasty for me but he thought it was the cats meow. He told me that he loved being married to me because there is always something new and exciting. Can't beat that compliment. It was begging for some crawfish ...definitely will add that next time and maybe some shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Absolutely Delicious! I knew going into this recipe that I didn't have the time to cook chicken (Frozen chicken + hungry teen begging for food = hurry up) so I made with only the andouille. I also cut back on the chicken broth - didn't feel I needed quite so much since there was no chicken. I didn't add more oil either ... I had enough grease from the bacon to do the trick. We just loved loved loved it! We love spicy stuff so I just seasoned to our taste. Served it up over rice. Wonderful recipe! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Chef John is the Man... I really like all his recipes.. But this one is my all time favorite..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Loved the recipe and various flavors. will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This was fantastic! Didn't have to change a thing. The whole family enjoyed it so much. If you have smaller children I would suggest taking it easy on the spicy seasonings though. Ill be making it again tonight for my church group...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Cajun Chicken Pasta

See how to make a creamy chicken sauté served over linguine.

Cajun Chicken Fettucini Alfredo

See how they make creamy Cajun chicken pasta down at the firehouse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States