Cajun Chicken Ragu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
But with tweaks...I cooked 3 chicken breasts in the crockpot with one can of chicken broth until done. Shredded the chicken, and then added the veggies and one package of Jennie-O Turkey Smoked Sausage and another can of chicken broth. Thickened it up with a bit of heated olive oil and flour to make a roux and one can of tomato paste to give it flavor. The finishing touch was cajun spice and it was served over rice. I will definitely make this again. Healthy (we left out the bacon) and great for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I do love ChefJohn's recipes. That said I made one change. I didn't have any cooked chicken so I roasted a couple leg quarters seasoned with some homemade creole seasoning. Once it was cool, I stripped the bones and made a quick chicken stock with them and the skin. I think that gave it a more complex flavor. Ya, it took some extra time, but I think it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I loved the spice in this Cajun Chicken Ragu however, I felt it needed some flavor on the front end, not sure what though. I just heated up the leftovers for lunch and it was almost better the 2nd time around. Definitely a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Loved the recipe and various flavors. will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This was fantastic! Didn't have to change a thing. The whole family enjoyed it so much. If you have smaller children I would suggest taking it easy on the spicy seasonings though. Ill be making it again tonight for my church group...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This is wonderful! Made it as recipe was given and it turned out great! Can't go wrong with Chef John...love him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This was such a good meal. I made it on my night to cook. I like to make something different each night and this was a really good choice! Great prep and total cook time. I made the recipe for two; there was just enough with a small salad and bread. Really good meal for just a regular ol weeknight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
So Delicious!!! I'm from TX and my grandmother makes the best gumbo but my Husband doesn't eat seafood or okra so this is a great alternative. We eat ours over white rice, Nummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
This was really good but like another reviewer mentioned it seemed that it needed something. I added a little extra spice, oregano, and about 2 tablespoons of tomato paste. Just seemed as if it needed some acid. I loved those changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Cajun Chicken Pasta

See how to make a creamy chicken sauté served over linguine.

Cajun Chicken Fettucini Alfredo

See how they make creamy Cajun chicken pasta down at the firehouse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States