Cajun Chicken Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
I thought this recipe would likely give anyone a heart attack, so I fiddled around with it a bit. I used low fat sour cream instead of the heavy cream, and used light parmesan. It turned out delicious; my husband loved it, and he hates it when I "low fat" everything. Much healthier than the 62g of fat per serving! Thanks for the Fab recipe, Carol! around with it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
This was very good though I prefer to use fresh ingredients. I used fresh garlic (4 cloves), squeeze of lemon instead of lemon/pepper, 1/2 & 1/2 instead of heavy cream. Rotini pasta for ease of eating and I think it 'catches' the sauce better. I also chopped up the chicken and the peppers for our kids. Used olive oil not butter. Very pretty when finished with the red and green peppers. Next time I will make a little roue after sauteing to help the sauce thicken. I used quite a bit more seasoning. In the end it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
When ten of us share our N.C. house rental for our yearly vacations, I always do all of the cooking and am constantly looking for meals that can feed a crowd. Well, this recipe certainly did the trick! I used evaporated skim milk in place of the heavy cream and penne in lieu of linguini. Everyone truly raved about this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
WOW! I made this last night and it was delicious, totally thought it tasted like I had ordered from a restaurant. Made a couple of changes. To cut the fat I didn't use the oil, and I used fat-free sour cream (only because I am lactose intolerant and can't handle cream) I can handle sour cream though and I used just less than a cup. It came out like a dream. I used Zatarain's creole spice and I went a little over board. My husband likes it spicy (I don't) but I kept eating anyways, because it tasted so good. Had no lemon pepper so used real lemon juice and then added cut up tomato and diced onion, and used minced garlic instead of powder. Also, cut the chicken into bite size pieces. I will definitely make this again! With just a little less spice. Thanks for a great recipe!!! Anna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2000
Wonderful!!! I omitted the butter and doubled the seasonings and used fat free cream. The cream was a little thin for my taste. I'll try to thicken it next time and see if that works. In any event this dish had wonderful flavor and the colors looked very pretty on the plate. This could easily be used as a vegetarian dish. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
Okay, this is my 2nd review.Of course it was fantastic the first time but I wanted to cut down the fat so we could have it as often we we wanted to! This time I used 1/2 and 1/2 instead of cream and thickened it w/ a little cornstarch. Worked great.I also used just green peppers, the others are so expensive! If I was going to make it for company, I would buy the red and yellow but for the family green is fine. I dont think the flavor suffers, and the kids push half of them to the side of their plates anyway! WE LOVE THIS, YUMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
Excellent recipe - definitly restaurant taste to it. I didn't want to gain the restaurant weight though and used milk instead of cream. Was a bit watery but I didn't have cornstarch to try and thicken it. Still, the taste was unbelievable! Will try the cornstarch next time. Other changes I made - Diced the peppers and only used one green, used fresh garlic and mushrooms, olive oil instead of butter, and cut up chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newtown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: West Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This was so good! I made this last night because it was raining and we couldn't grill. I used Cajun Seasoning Mix from this site to season the chicken. I doubled the amount of chicken and removed it when it was done cooking before adding the vegetables. Peppers always seem to take longer to cook for some reason. When it came to the sauce I used 2 cups of half and half and some sour cream and corn starch to thicken it and to make it a little less hot. It was wonderful! I tossed it with regular spaghetti and some parmesean cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
I made this last night for my husband and our best friends. They RAVED over it!! Went back for more! I made a few changes, I used fresh squeezed lemon,fresh minced garlic, cut the peppers into bite size pieces and used an italian blend of cheeses. Oh, and to make it faster I bought butterball sandwich starters grilled chicken breast and cut them into bite size pieces, and covered the chicken with Zatarains Creole seasoning (lots of it if you like spicy). Cheese bread sticks and green salad compiment this meal, and a good blush wine would go good. It turned out wonderful!!! Thanks for the recipe this is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
Very, very good. Hubby really enjoyed this, and he's very anti-creamy/cheesy anything. I added some chicken broth along with the cream to give a little more flavor. I seared some chicken tenders sprinkled with old bay in a non-stick skillet and removed them when they were cooked through. I added the veggies, sauteed them and deglazed my pan with about a 1/4 cup of white wine and then returned the meat to the pan. I served this with thin spaghetti and garlic bread. Great meal. Thanks Carol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 865) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Chicken Pasta

See how to make a creamy chicken sauté served over linguine.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States