Cajun Chicken Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Super disappointed in this one based on all the rave reviews. The proportions seemed wrong from the beginning. 4 oz pasta for 1.5 cups cream? I increased the pasta to 8oz, cut down on the peppers and chicken. Also, reading the recipe I didn't even think of the fact that the sauce doesn't call for thickening agent. I realized as soon as I put the cream in, that it was going to be too thin. I added some flour to thicken just a bit at least. The taste in the end was good but not great. Will not make again. Seems like all the rave reviews on this one are people who changed this quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This was awesome!!!!! Hubby loved it and this recipe is most definitely a keeper. Very easy, great flavor, followed the recipe exactly........perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Not only was this a great recipe but it was easy and fast to prepare. Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Made this tonight and even my 9 year old who claims to hate veggies liked it. I made only a few changes. I used half and half instead of heavy cream and used a whole red bell pepper and no green. Also used 2 portobella mushrooms because that's what I had on hand. I misread the recipe and used a whole bunch of green onions instead of only one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATRANTER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This was good! I used some leftover chicken from the other night so it was shredded and became kind of mushy looking but it tasted good. I also used fat free milk and a little cornstarch. I did not have any green onions or mushrooms :( next time defintly adding the mushrooms!! My son even liked it my daughter is super picky and said no but I am going to add this to my list of meals!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Lightle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
My family gave it a 2, I gave it a 3...probably because I'm stubborn & had high hopes...way too salty, no depth to the flwvor...too predictable..we won't be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Made this tonight...FANTASTIC. Highly recommend. Going to have the leftover chicken cold on salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This is very simular to a dish we served over 17 years ago (I say served, as I movd from the area) at a restuarant I ran. Only difference is we used a bit more of (our version) of cajun spices & (didn't use green peppers) and servied it over orzo with wonderfully prepared asparagus and a nice chunk of our artisan bread. This was a customer favorite! I have prepared this at home with linguini and is just as good. I still don't add green pepper, I don't like the bitter taste they add to cream sauces. Fresh minced garlic instead of powder is necessary! Great comfort food with a restuarant flair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Fast, easy, delicious. What's not to love? I doubled the recipe, with a full pound of linguine. Suggestions to simplify a double order: 1) Use precooked chicken (I used Costco packaged rotisserie breast). 2) If you use a good Cajun/Creole (same) seasoning like home mixed Emeril's Essence (has the salt, cayenne, etc), you can cut out most spices on this recipe. 3) Use a package of pre-sliced bella mushrooms. 4)Half & Half with a T of cornstarch will cut fat. 5) I don't care for bell peppers or lemon pepper, and it's beautiful without it. Now to cook: a) melt butter, throw in chicken, mushrooms, and green onion. Then sprinkle Essence and mix. b) pour over 3 cups of half and half with a T of cornstarch, add Basil, and bring to a simmer. That's it. You can taste to see if you want to add salt, but you should be done if the creole/cajun seasoning is right. Let it simmer and reduce while you cook the pasta. Mix it all together and serve. Son said it was one of the best dishes I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
It was great I loved it. If you've ever tried Friday's Cajun Chicken and Shrimp Pasta it taste exactly just like that. I made this twice my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,459) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cajun Chicken Pasta

See how to make a creamy chicken sauté served over linguine.

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States