Cajun Chicken Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2003
I just cooked this dish, and this was quite possibly the best meal I have ever eaten. I love the richness, I love it. I love anything with andouille, chicken, and cream. The only thing I did different was make homemade alfredo sauce instead of canned/jarred, which only took a minute (2c half and half, 1 stick butter, 3c parmesan, and 2 tbl minced garlic). I love the cheesiness, and it is not watery like some lasagna. You can actually get the first piece of this out without it being destroyed! I found it to have the perfect amount of saltiness and spice. I LOVED this recipe. In fact I am going to get some more now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
After reading the helpful review given by Louisianagirl I tired this recipe again using homeade alfredo (2c half and half, 1 stick butter, 3c parmesan and 2 tbsp minced garlic). What a difference!! Turns out the first time I reviewed this recipe what I did not like was the flavor of the store bought alfredo sauce, not the richness. Thank you for your review Louisianagirl - you turned what I originally rated a five star recipe into a ten star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
This was an easy and very tasty twist on the same old lasagna! I prepared it as followed and it came out perfect! If your picky about your alfredo sauce than go the extra step and make your own, however even with the jared "stuff", this was one of the best dishes I've made on this site! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Holyoke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
I have prepared this reciped twice. It is great. The only thing I changed was to use no cook pasta. I just put a little of the plain sauce on the bottom of the dish before the first layer of noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2003
This was delicious and simple to put together! I actually scaled down the amounts to fit a 8x8 pan and still used 2 cartons of sauce. I just let the lasagna sit for about 15 minutes before cutting into it and it served up beautifully. This is rich I admit, but looking at the ingredients I knew I couldn't go wrong! I also added some sweet corn to the meat mixture and it gave a hint of sweetness to compliment the spiceness of the andouille. My husband licked his plate clean.....literally! Don't forget to scrap up all the bits left behind from browning the meat when sauteeing the vegetables since it will add to the flavor. Thanks for this recipe, its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Mmmmmmm...... This was good. Like others have said you only need half the box of noodles and I used hot italian sausage and it turned out great. It is even better the next day because it holds together better. Try adding more alfredo and putting over spagetti or fettucini noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lyndylou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
This lasagna is great!! I changed a few things however to make it slightly less heavy. I used 1/2 lbs of chicken andouille sausage and 1 1/2 lbs of chicken and instead of two jars of alfredo sauce , I used one light alfredo sauce and 1 jar of spicy pasta sauce. he lasagna also needed to cook a little longer than 1 hour. Thanks for the great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Super easy recipe! I made it with store bought (pre-cooked) chicken, and this cut down cooking time. It was really good with a salad and bread! Thanks for the great one! EDIT:: I have made this into a pasta toss,using bowtie or penne, instead of the lasagna, and LOVE IT! I totally recomend trying it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetPea

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This was the BEST recipe I've ever made. Alfredo sauce in a jar isn't very good, so it's best to make it from scratch and it's easy. My husband loved it too! Leftovers were just as good. Worth the price of all the ingredients listed as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
This was so creamy and melt-in-your-mouth. I have made this for dinner parties and get lots of compliments. I do put in slightly more Cajun seasoning than suggested, however, as I like my food with a lot of spice. I also have expirimented with Texan Chilli flvoured sausage, which is also very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

Displaying results 1-10 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Chicken Pasta

See how to make a creamy chicken sauté served over linguine.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Cajun Chicken Ragu

It’s Cajun-style comfort food with andouille sausage, bacon, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States