Cajun Catfish Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
My boyfriend made this for us and I loved it! Everyone but me thought it was just "okay". He is a good cook but too critical of his own cooking. The kids only like breaded fish but I am the one rating it and I am giving it the 5 stars it deserves ;) If you like catfish give this a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Moriches, New York, USA
Living In: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
My husband loved this recipe and went back for seconds! For my seasoning, I used Garlic Pepper Blend and lightly used Seasoning Salt since others said it was too salty in the end. Campbell's Soup makes the Cream of Shrimp Soup. I'm not sure if it's sold in all 50 states or not. I read where some people had problems finding it. I used dried parsley since I already had it. And I cooked fish in olive oil since a stick of butter for the recipe seemed like a bit much. Although I did use 4 tbl spool to saute the mushrooms, parsley, green onions and shrimp. I served it over brown rice and it came out great. My husband gave me a double A+ for presentation as well. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
My family (none of which are huge seafood fans) LOVED this. They kept talking about dinner long after the dishes were washed and put away. I subbed Tilapia, added lemon pepper to sauce, used cooked cocktail shrimp (added just b4 baking) and about 1/2 the butter. If no shrimp at hand, xtra mushrooms would be great. Only baked for 20 minutes. Great over plain white rice. A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
Excellent! Very good recipe. I had to make some substitutions because I was short on some ingredients (white onion instead of green onion; dried parsely instead of fresh parsley and creole seaonsing instead of blackened seasoning; we also used the petite salad shrimp)...but it didn't even matter. We loved the end result. Next time we may try this with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
I tried this recipe for my family about a week ago, and I've had two more requests since then. This one's a winner at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
awesome. very creamy sauce. thought it would be hard to find cream of shrimp after reading reviews but it was at kroger's (live in dallas,tx). i got campbell's cream of shrimp in the soup aisle. there are also cream of shrimp recipes online and this website that will actually mail it to you (sorry, dont have address). will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
This was really, really good. I could have ate just the topping minus the fish, but either way it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
My boyfriend and I absolutely adored this! Oh goodness it was sooooo good over herb rice! YUMMY!!!!! scaled down to four, didn't have cajun blackened seasoning so improvised by using regular cajun seasoning, a pinch each of thyme, garlic powder, paprika, onion powder, black and white pepper. did use cream of shrimp soup. It doesn't get much better than this. Next time i might add a bit more spice, leave out the catfish and add crab and. . . . it is so GOOD! thank you thank you thank you Lu Post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESSIELTTE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
Great recipe,Thanks. I'm not big on canned soups but I'm glad I made this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
This was absolutely fabulous! I made it for my husband and he said it reminded him of something he'd get at the restaurant Pappadeaux. I would probably not add as much butter next time but I have to admit it was yummy just the way it was. I used precooked frozen shrimp and it worked just great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States