Cajun Catfish Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
My husband and I really enjoyed this. Based on the previous reviews, I used unsalted butter. It still was kind of salty. I think next time I'll use reduced sodium cream of mushroom soup instead of the cream of shrimp. Only change I made was to double the amount of mushroom because we love mushrooms. In fact, I think in the future I'd put even more mushrooms in. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
My husband and I were both disappointed by this. It was fairly salty and lacked something we can't quite place. Like a crunch or some difference in texture. Ended up feeling like it was a waste of money. Was against my better judgement to throw condensed soup on a pound of fresh shrimp and catfish. Should have gone with my gut. On the upside it was relatively easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This dish was disappointingly lacking flavor considering all the time and prep to cook. Probably has potential, but will plan for a time when I have all afternoon to prepare, may try bacon as a base for mushrooms and add spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
A relatively easy, festive, good dish. A bit too salty (even with the cream substitution).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
This recipe was really good for fat Tuesday! My husband also loved it. I used 1 can of cream of mushroom and 1 can of cream of shrimp. I also added a green pepper. Next time I will add cayenne and white pepper. It wasn't hot enough. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Catawba, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This is, by far, the best thing I have ever made! In the 10 years that I have been cooking for my family... I shocked my husband! Of course, with a few adjustments. Being in Alaska, I used halibut instead of catfish. In step 3, I added a small can of mushrooms-undrained (instead of fresh), sweet onion instead of green, 1 can cream of celery soup and 1/2 cup sour cream (instead of the crm of shrimp). And finally, served over fettucine noodles. Yummo! We usually pay $20 a plate for this at our local resturant! Never again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Living In: Homer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
What did I do wrong, LU? Mine was WAY overcooked. I'll try it again because we have pond raised Catfish at our disposal. 1/18/08 Tried again. Just too dry as given. Could your instructions be wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
The only change I made was to use 1 can of Cream of Shrimp soup to an equal amount of whipping cream. It was great served over Zatarain's Garlic & Herb rice mix (without the ground beef)! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannLeigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarks Mills, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
Fabulous! I made several changes based on other reviews. I used Old Bay Seasoning in combination with garlic powder, onion powder, black pepper, white pepper, kosher salt, thyme, and paprika in place of blackened seasoning. I also used dried parsley instead of fresh. Instead of 2 cans of cream of shrimp, I used one can plus a 1/2 can of half-and-half. Lastly, I used frozen shrimp so all I had to do was thaw it and it was ready to go!... just serve over rice. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
Fabulous recipe! I've made this several times. I've used tilapia and it was great. I use less butter and I increase the blackened seasoning. Sometimes I top it with grated parmesan cheese. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Cajun Chicken Pasta

See how to make a creamy chicken sauté served over linguine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States