Cajun Catfish Supreme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe and so easy! I have used flounder filets and tilapia filets and both times this came out great. You can cut back on the butter when you sauté the mushrooms (if you want) since there is some left in the pan from when you blackened the fish. Thanks for one of the best recipes in a long time. Big on flavor, elegant and definitely company worthy. Use the cream of shrimp soup- so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
We didn't find this superb, it was way too salty for us. The flavors wasn't all that exciting for the tastesbuds, the flavors were complicating one another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Absolutely incredible!!!  Couldn't find Cream of Shrimp soup so I used Clam Chowder instead. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I didnt like it that much but my son did! (12years old). He ate two helpings. I used cream of mushroom.I think it was kinda fishy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This was delicious! For a veggie, I steamed asparagus and then quick saute in olive oil and garlic and a splash of balsamic vinegar. I also had some fresh Italian bread, toasted with olive oil to clean up the plate. Mmmmmm. I couldn't find cream of shrimp at my local Kroger, so I used 1.5 cans of cream of mushroom, and a pinch or so of flour to thicken a bit further. It doesn't specify, but I used portobello mushrooms and it was perfect. Also, I used Creole seasoning instead of blackened seasoning. I didn't measure it, but just shook it on until I thought it was good. Next time I make this, and there will be a next time, I may try to cut the butter in half and use some type of oil to compensate if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
it was okay. little too rich for my blood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I'm going to look for a Cajun seasoning without salt in it because this was way, way to salty and I think it was the Cajun Shake I used. The soup would also be high in sodium but I don't normally find it to be so salty that I can't eat it. We try to eat low sodium so we may be particularly sensitive to the salt but it was bad, we seriously couldn't finish the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMATECHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I was looking for a catfish recipe and found this one last night. I went out to purchase the ingredients that I did not have in the house and made it today. I did not use green onion or the blackened seasoning. I used seafood seasoning instead. I also used dried parsley and added a can of rotel for some spice. OMG!!! It was sooooo good. I will make this time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I made this last night and my family raved about it! I also substituted tilapia simply because it's what I had on hand. I also opted to decrease the Cajun seasoning after reading that it might be a bit too salty. I poured this delectable dish over fettucine...Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This was sooooooo good! All the flavors go together so well. The only thing I would suggest is to the right amount of mayo or less, there was kind of a lot of oil sitting in our dish. But still- it was delecious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

An authentic Louisiana recipe for spicy Cajun stew.

Catfish Po’ Boy Grinder

See how to make an authentic New Orleans catfish po’ boy sandwich.

Southern-Fried Texas Catfish

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Stephan's authentic deep-fried catfish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States