Cajun Cabbage with Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Nice casserole. Unfortunately I couldn't use the cayenne pepper because my son doesn't like spicy food (I sprinkled some on mine after cooking), so I added a bunch of chopped fresh cilantro. I used about 3-4 Tbs chopped cilantro, and would increase, even double that, next time. I used ground turkey instead of beef and added about a quarter cup of wheat germ. Really good dinner for a cold wintry day. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This was a GREAT recipe! We used shredded sharp cheddar instead of colby. I also had to turn the heat down to 300 degrees and bake longer so dinner was hot when family got home, but it was still really good! I finally had to just put it away so I would quit going back for more! I also used crushed red pepper, cajun seasoning and a little italian seasoning instead of the separate seasonings the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aliann11
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I've been trying to incorporate more vegetables in the diet...and I could do this with the cabbage. You don't really have to like cabbage either! I spiced the recipe up a little more with crushed red pepper. My husband liked it better as leftovers, and the cabbage kept most of it's consistency (didn't turn mushy and wilty).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliann11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Nice & spicy! I used ground turkey breast, and it was very good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Excellent dish!! Great way to use ground beef, I added water instead of the tomato sauce as I didn't have any and it was still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Hubby and I loved this. It was a little spicy for the kids, so I may cut back on that next time, but super easy and good. We'll definitely be having this again, and I'd serve it to company as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homeward Hearts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
This recipe is great! My son can't get enough of it. We try to have it for dinner at least once a week. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEKLIGHT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laurel, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Very tasty! We're vegetarian, so I substituted some veggie burger crumbles for the beef. I didn't have tomatoes with green chiles, so I used regular diced tomatoes and added a fresh minced jalepeno. I forgot to cover it for about the first half of baking, but it didn't seem to suffer too much. I will definitely make this again, it was soooo easy and filling. And a great way to use up some cabbage (one of those "what do I do with this?" vegetables for me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHESSA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilford, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
This was so easy and delicious! We ate it all that night! My husband wanted more and it was gone! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
i liked this recipe very much. Just the right amount of spice & a great way to use up cabbage. a great one pot meal for a quick easy mid week meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tony down under

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wagga Wagga, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States