Cajun Cabbage with Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Tastes great, was easy to make. I only gave it 4 stars though because it seemed a little odd , more like it should be the filling for something. I might try this again as filling for Stuffed Cabbage rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
It took me much longer than 20 minutes to prepare this meal, with all the chopping. The end result was worth it. I love dishes that provide meat, veggie, and starch all in one. I did make some changes. I didn't know whether to use green or purple cabbage, so I used green. I omitted white pepper because I did not have it. I used tomato soup instead of sauce because that's what I had on hand. I also used instant rice by accident. My dish was cooked within 15 minutes. I don't know how this dish can withstand an hour of cooking. The cabbage started to brown and burn in 15 minutes. So I may have used instant rice by accident, but I recommend it. Why cook this for over an hour when it can be on the table much faster? I will make this again, but will stick with all my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This is great. Even the teenager liked it, and he is picky. I did make a few changes. The tomatoes had Chipolte not chilies, and I used tomato paste instead of sauce.I used brown rice . I added some water and I didn't put the cayenne in it . I cooked it quite awhile to get the rice cooked. It was not hot, just a little zippy.Probably by using the chipolte it wouldn't be cajun. But it was sure good.Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This was awesome! It was rather time consuming but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
We enjoyed this recipe. I did make some alterations based on what I had; I used diced brats instead of beef (thats what I was trying to use up) and cayenne instead of chili. My husband and I destroyed this soup. I enjoyed all the flavors. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This is an awesome recipe! I did change it a little so that i have a one pot meal ready in 30 mnutes. I cook 3 cups of rice in the microwave while browning the meat and add a layer of cabbage in the middle. No one even relizes they are eating and enjoying cabbage! this feeds 4 adults with leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This was absolutely delicious!! I followed the recipe EXACTLY...except for using napa cabbage instead of regular. The seasoning was spot on! It was the perfect spiciness...which my daughter who usually doesn't do spice foods woofed this down, with a lot of water, of course! Yum...GREAT recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This recipe is awesome! My whole family loved it! I did everything that the recipe called for except the hot pepper. Next time I will spice it up! Thank you for putting this dish on here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pontotoc, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Definitely was spicy, so cut back on the cayenne if you like less heat. the casserole was ok and I'm not quite sure I'd make it again. But I do like a 1 dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Sooo good! It has a lot of kick, so my 2-year-old wasn't able to eat it (probably wouldn't have anyway!), but my husband and I love heat, so it was perfect for us. Made the recipe just as directed, other than adding the cheese after about an hour just to melt it over the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States