Cajun Cabbage with Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
This was wonderful. I made a few changes - cooked the rice first, because I haven't always had the best of luck using uncooked rice in baked dishes. Sauteed the cabbage in a little butter with 1/2 tsp cajun seasoning, mixed everything together and stirred in about another 1/2 tsp of the cajun seasoning - I used the cajun seasoning in place of all the other spices. Topped the whole works with the cheese and baked it at 400 for 20-25 mins. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
delicious! Perfect comfort food. I had an extra bag of coleslaw mix and I didn't know what to do with it. I found this recipe and wasn't sure the kids would like it but I wanted to try it anyway. They loved it! And my husband went back for seconds. I had to lay off some of the spice for the kids sake but I bet it is even better with the heat. I am looking forward to tomorrow when I can eat the left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This was fairly good. I left out the bell pepper and just used regular diced tomatoes. To me this recipe was very easy to throw together, not time consuming at all. The rice, to my surprise, came out perfect after 70 minutes. Next time that I make this I may leave out the white pepper (has kind of a funky taste to me) and add some extra cheese. For those of you having trouble with your cabbage burning, make sure that you cover your dish or it will burn for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Tastes great, was easy to make. I only gave it 4 stars though because it seemed a little odd , more like it should be the filling for something. I might try this again as filling for Stuffed Cabbage rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
It took me much longer than 20 minutes to prepare this meal, with all the chopping. The end result was worth it. I love dishes that provide meat, veggie, and starch all in one. I did make some changes. I didn't know whether to use green or purple cabbage, so I used green. I omitted white pepper because I did not have it. I used tomato soup instead of sauce because that's what I had on hand. I also used instant rice by accident. My dish was cooked within 15 minutes. I don't know how this dish can withstand an hour of cooking. The cabbage started to brown and burn in 15 minutes. So I may have used instant rice by accident, but I recommend it. Why cook this for over an hour when it can be on the table much faster? I will make this again, but will stick with all my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This is great. Even the teenager liked it, and he is picky. I did make a few changes. The tomatoes had Chipolte not chilies, and I used tomato paste instead of sauce.I used brown rice . I added some water and I didn't put the cayenne in it . I cooked it quite awhile to get the rice cooked. It was not hot, just a little zippy.Probably by using the chipolte it wouldn't be cajun. But it was sure good.Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This was awesome! It was rather time consuming but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANER60

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
We enjoyed this recipe. I did make some alterations based on what I had; I used diced brats instead of beef (thats what I was trying to use up) and cayenne instead of chili. My husband and I destroyed this soup. I enjoyed all the flavors. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This is an awesome recipe! I did change it a little so that i have a one pot meal ready in 30 mnutes. I cook 3 cups of rice in the microwave while browning the meat and add a layer of cabbage in the middle. No one even relizes they are eating and enjoying cabbage! this feeds 4 adults with leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This was absolutely delicious!! I followed the recipe EXACTLY...except for using napa cabbage instead of regular. The seasoning was spot on! It was the perfect spiciness...which my daughter who usually doesn't do spice foods woofed this down, with a lot of water, of course! Yum...GREAT recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States