Cajun Cabbage with Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
If you like just a bit of spice in your meal, this is a perfect recipe. Omitted bell pepper and used 3/4 cup of Zatarains cajun rice because it was all I had at this time. Cabbage was a great compliment to the spice. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joejoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liberal, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This was mediocre at best..prepared as written..the beef mixture had a nice taste but put together with the cabbage and cheese it still was not enough to bring it up to a two star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Just thought i would try a different recipe for cabbage I love it so needed to find on that I could make on a regular basis.....Well this one does it for me...I followed it to a tee and really you dont have to change a thing...For all the people who say their cabbage burns on top just cover it with a layer of leaves just like old fashioned cabbage rolls you won't have a problem....actually I did change one thing...I sprayed the casserole dish I had with cooking spray then put a layer of cabbage then meat mixture then a bit more cabbage followed by the leaves...also omitted the cheese but feel free to add just before eating or reheating....Love it Chow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CindyLepp
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Very good! I used the Johnsonville New Orleans sausage instead of ground beef. The only thing I did different is that I didn't have to precook the sausage so I just mixed everything in a bowl first without even precooking the veggies. Came out perfect! Thank you for this recipe....the cabbage was an excellent twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyLepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I was looking for something different and this is it. I smothered it with cabbage and cheese and they can't stop eating! Thanks for a new idea to use the same old boring ingredients in a way that is more exciting for a Thursday night dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Everyone loved this. More like a deconstructed stuffed pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Had ground turkey and a cabbage from our garden.. didn't know what to do with it and found this recipe. Am I ever glad I did!!! I tweaked it just a bit because I didn't have a couple things, and substituted a bit. Otherwise, I kept the recipe as is. I used the ground turkey and added a little worcestershire sauce and extra black pepper when browning with veggies for flavor (I had no white pepper, but didn't really need it). Accidentally used a 15 oz can of tomato sauce, but with the brown rice, it worked since brown rice needs a little more moisture. I had no shredded cheese on hand, so sprinkled the top with parmesean cheese and broke apart some low fat sliced provalone I had and laid it out on top. Yes it's spicy.. but sooooo fantastic! And super easy!! I'd give this 10 stars if I could!! I will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Yummy recipe. Shared it with some coworkers and they loved it. The cabbage really made it great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna.grace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Really liked this recipe, will make again. Found that baking took a little longer than 75 minutes in my oven but was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Crooked River Ranch, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I didn't bake this and I used instant rice and left out the green pepper and only used a can of diced tomatoes, no tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States