Cajun Cabbage with Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I thought this was just okay. I increased the minced garlic and put in two heaping tablespoons. I also added a few sprinkles of cumin and red pepper flakes. I doubt I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
This is like an inside out stuffed cabbage. My husband and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I found this recipe a few years ago and it has become one of my favorites. I like it because it's different from your "typical" casserole. I leave out the cayenne pepper for the kids' sake and use partially cooked brown rice. I've tried both cheddar and colby cheeses - not a big difference. I usually make a double batch and freeze one. Cook the frozen one (covered with foil) at 300 for 1-1/2 hrs, then uncover it and cook another 20-30 minutes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This was pretty good but just didn't suit my tastes. If you make this be sure to have some Beano on hand to take before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blenheim, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Darlington, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Not bad but not amazing. I fiddled around with the seasonings - more herbs, more garlic, red pepper flakes as well as cayenne - and it was ok. I also stirred in cooked white rice as I've had crappy experiences trying to cook rice in the oven. I wasn't crazy about the cabbage really - it got kinda burned in some places and was quite raw in others. This was a decent meal, but I wouldn't make it again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Nice casserole. Unfortunately I couldn't use the cayenne pepper because my son doesn't like spicy food (I sprinkled some on mine after cooking), so I added a bunch of chopped fresh cilantro. I used about 3-4 Tbs chopped cilantro, and would increase, even double that, next time. I used ground turkey instead of beef and added about a quarter cup of wheat germ. Really good dinner for a cold wintry day. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This was a GREAT recipe! We used shredded sharp cheddar instead of colby. I also had to turn the heat down to 300 degrees and bake longer so dinner was hot when family got home, but it was still really good! I finally had to just put it away so I would quit going back for more! I also used crushed red pepper, cajun seasoning and a little italian seasoning instead of the separate seasonings the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aliann11
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I've been trying to incorporate more vegetables in the diet...and I could do this with the cabbage. You don't really have to like cabbage either! I spiced the recipe up a little more with crushed red pepper. My husband liked it better as leftovers, and the cabbage kept most of it's consistency (didn't turn mushy and wilty).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliann11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Nice & spicy! I used ground turkey breast, and it was very good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Excellent dish!! Great way to use ground beef, I added water instead of the tomato sauce as I didn't have any and it was still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States