Cajun Cabbage with Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This was a quick and easy dish to prepare and tasted great! The flavor and spice was perfect. I followed the recipe as written. We added sour cream on top and a salad on the side- perfect! The only thing I would suggest is this recipe would almost be better as a side dish or served as a dip as opposed to a main dish casserole. Still a keeper though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCosgrove83179

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This recipe is wonderful. It was spicy and had such a nice texture. I made it a low-fat Vegan dish by omitting the ground beef and cheese. I also made it a one-pot meal by cooking this dish in a non-stick skillet over medium-low heat. After adding the rice, I let the sauce come to a simmer, turned the heat to low/medium-low, added a head of Napa Cabbage on top without stirring (I think that helped the dish to cook quicker as it's a more delicate cabbage), and I let it cook undisturbed with the lid on for 15 minutes. Then, I removed the lid, gave it a stir, added about a 1/3 cup of water (as it was looking a little thick), put the lid back on and cooked for another 5 minutes until the rice was soft. Very spicy and satisfying...and healthy! My family loved it too! Thank you to whoever posted this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I had some stuff to use up from my bountiful baskets so I decided to try this recipe. It was easy to do and tasted good too. Not to much spice. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Loved this dish. Made as directed, and I will be fixing this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
We loved this and it warmed up great. It's in my Go-To folder now!!! My differences (great alternative). I didn't have cabbage or white pepper. I also didn't have an hour and a half for making it. I added half a cup of water when I added the rice and just cooked it in the skillet with a lid. Stir and check on it frequently. Like a hamburger helper at this point. I also traded a mix of orange and red peppers for the green pepper because it's what I had on hand. Throw the cheese on top. The next day I warmed it up and added a dollop of sour cream and some crushed tortillas on top. That was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Very delicious dish! The best part was the cheese-that made the cabbage even tastier. I made this with lean ground turkey, omitted the salt, used fresh tomatoes, fresh jalapenos, added a little water, and used barley rice. I cooked it for about 70 minutes and the rice turned out perfect. The only change I would make is to double the spices and see how that turns out. Overall, it still was a flavorful dish. I would definitely make this recipe again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene
Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I made this in one pot for ease. This was a good way to use up some ground meat and cabbage and I made sure to season generously, but felt that once the cabbage cooked down that there wasn't enough seasoning to save it. I might make everything again, but have the cooked cabbage on the side. Mmm, sounds good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
My go-to recipe for using extra ground beef. Really tasty- I use brown rice and cook it a bit longer. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I love this recipes because it's a basic recipe that you can adjust most of the ingredients to your tastes and it always comes out great. The only thing I'll do next time is cook the rice a little bit before mixing it in as it was a little undercooked (I know I could have left it in the oven longer but I didn't have time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This was so amazing, the best casserole i have tasted in a long time. I can't wait to share this with my husband to see what he thinks. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States