Cajun Cabbage with Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Everyone loved this. More like a deconstructed stuffed pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Had ground turkey and a cabbage from our garden.. didn't know what to do with it and found this recipe. Am I ever glad I did!!! I tweaked it just a bit because I didn't have a couple things, and substituted a bit. Otherwise, I kept the recipe as is. I used the ground turkey and added a little worcestershire sauce and extra black pepper when browning with veggies for flavor (I had no white pepper, but didn't really need it). Accidentally used a 15 oz can of tomato sauce, but with the brown rice, it worked since brown rice needs a little more moisture. I had no shredded cheese on hand, so sprinkled the top with parmesean cheese and broke apart some low fat sliced provalone I had and laid it out on top. Yes it's spicy.. but sooooo fantastic! And super easy!! I'd give this 10 stars if I could!! I will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Yummy recipe. Shared it with some coworkers and they loved it. The cabbage really made it great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna.grace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Really liked this recipe, will make again. Found that baking took a little longer than 75 minutes in my oven but was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Crooked River Ranch, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I didn't bake this and I used instant rice and left out the green pepper and only used a can of diced tomatoes, no tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This was so good. The cabbage was sweet and the meat mixture spicy. my husband even liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I also have had bad experiences with adding raw rice, LOL, so I precooked the 1/2 cup rice with 1 cup water, and blanched the cabbage first. I also used about a TBSP of Tony's, and added a little more to taste, rather than using the spice mix. A little more garlic, and sharp cheddar. Of course, I had to add a couple of ribs of celery (you have to have the "trinity" ). I had actually just had an email recipe of a similar dish by a restaurant chef, so I followed his directions and mixed everything all together rather than layering. His recipe included some cream, but I just used a splash of milk instead. It turned out wonderfully, but I think it might be even better if I not only added the cheese in the mix, but topped it with cheese, as well. Served with some garlic bread--can't wait for the leftovers! I can see using lower fat ingredients--ground chicken or turkey, or low fat cheese (or even omitting it) You could even add crawfish tails or andouille. There is so much potential to vary this! Oh--I baked it @ 365, covered with foil, for the first 30 minutes. I then baked it uncovered, for another 15 or so. There looked like a lot of liquid in the dish, but after letting it sit for about 15 minutes, it was all absorbed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
a fairly simple and hearty dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
It was good, but seemed a little dry to us. Next time I would add another can of Tomato Sauce. My husband said..."has a good flavor, but it's too dry. A good meal for us, but I wouldn't consider it for company". Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hazel Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I made this for a pre-thanksgiving potluck and I made a batch for home... It was not what I'd expected.... I followed the recipe to a T and if I do it again I'd definitely do some things a little different. 1.Blanch the cabbage just a bit because they were harder than I wanted 2. Wait until the last 10-20 minutes to add the cheese... it got pretty dark too soon. **The filling was pretty good..... It wasn't bad though....Co-workers said they liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States