Cajun Boiled Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Tried this boiled p-nut recipe and loved it!! Thanks it was a big hit with the guys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teyes400

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deland, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I altered the recipe by reducing the amount of peanuts to 2 12-oz bags, used a combination of hot chili pepper flakes and jalepeno slices, a little bit of sugar (1 tbsp) to cut the heat but still get the flavor, and I would never use anything but Old Bay Seasoning (crab boil). I'm giving four stars because I did have to alter the recipe to come up with a five-star result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
We LOVE this recipe but like someone else said boiled peanuts are an acquired taste :) And I think one of those things that you either love or hate, there's really no in between.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
At noon, in a 6 qt oval slow cooker, I put 3 pounds of raw peanuts (could not put more in there), 3 oz of crab boil and 4 oz diced jalapeno peppers with juice. I had Old Bay on hand but did not use it. At 10 PM I added some sea salt but had to be careful since I'm being treated for high BP. Next day at 2 PM I enjoyed a bunch of them. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
I slow boiled them stove-top with this recipe plus Kosher salt. My crew likes the spice, next time will add LA. hot-sauce. I guess it depends on where you live, the raw peanuts are varied in maturity. Just taste them as they cook. I pulled them off the stove after about 2 hours. They taste even better the next day. Treat them like Southern Edamame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I tried to follow the advice of the two reviewers below by adding salt and reducing the quantity. Although I'm glad I used 3 lbs instead of 5, I am NOT happy about the .75 cup of salt I added! I used two 3 oz. boxes of Kroger dry crab boil and the can of jalapenos. There was NO NEED to add any salt! The mustard seeds in the crab boil were salty enough! Now it tastes saltier than pure salt! But I found that if I spread the peanuts out on a large baking sheet and wait overnight, the dried peanuts taste much better because the mustard seeds fall right off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Oooo These are SPICY! If you like HOT food these are great. I think Boiled PEanuts are an acquired taste. And being from the South I have definitly acquired a taste for Boiled Peanuts. These is a great recipe. Reminds me of the peanuts you can pick up on the side of the road from local farmers in the south. Yum! Great for Football season!! I always bring Boiled Peanuts to tailgate! Be careful not to overcook the peanuts. Nobody likes mooshy Peanuts after all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aly Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longwood, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I lived in Jacksonville Florida for a month years ago and wanted to duplicate the wonderful spicy boiled peanuts sold roadside there. This recipe isn't it. I got a Zatarain's crab boil package and it tasted more like dill than spicy. Plus they need some salt added, they were very plain. This was a waste of 5lbs of peanuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Florida is known for its boiled peanuts. Boiled Peanut carts are everywhere. When a dear friend came to Jacksonville who loves these peanuts, we tried this recipe. They were perfect. We had them in the crockpot for 36 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Since I don't know how boiled peanuts are supposed to taste, I have no idea if I did this wrong, or if I just didn't like them. I added salt like suggested and they cooked for about 10 hours overnight. It wasn't something I would eat a ton of, but I am very glad I tried it. Thanks for the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souix Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Beef Sliders

See how to make perfect homemade sliders.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States